A Lazy Weekend with Gateaux and Crochet!!

IMG_6007020
     Hope you all had a lovely weekend.  It was a fairly quiet one here. On Saturday Abi was busy all day with her photography coursework and Hubby and Josh were round my cousin and her fiancés new house helping them decorate.  They have just bought a house around the corner from us.  She was one of our little bridesmaids and at 21 is now hoping to get married herself next month.  It will be lovely having her so close.  I am so favoured and have just over 100 relatives living within a 10 mile radius.

I really didn’t feel my best so apart from making a quick gateaux for Sunday desert and preparing my Sunday school lesson (and a nice nap in the afternoon), I didn’t do much other than crochet!!! I always try to make a nice desert for Sundays as since Dad passed away last year Mum always spends the day with us and I love the opportunity to spoil her a bit as she does so much to help me especially on my bad days. (I have SLE (Lupus) and Fibromyalgia among other things)!!

IMG_6005018

I have started to make a shawl that I hope to wear to my cousins wedding!  So only about 5 weeks to make it!!  Thankfully it is made using super chunky yarn so it grows really quickly.  I am using this pattern from Ravelry.

It is not as holey as the picture on the pattern but I am preferring this look.  the yarn is quite loopy so not the easiest to work with and rather difficult to see where to insert the hook, I’m having to go more by feel!  having said that I am really enjoying making it, it is a very simple pattern.  I love the subtle colour changes in the yarn.

Josh was poorly yesterday (Sunday) with a high temperature and I only had half of my usual Sunday School class!!  Seems to be rather a lot going around down here!  I spent all evening reading to him a book about a girl from a Maasai tribe.  He now wants to grow some gourds to make containers with!!  After being delirious in the night, Josh is a lot better this morning. We have ordered gourd seeds and are planning on doing some wet felting later!

Happy crafting all!!

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

