A Mystery Tour and More Surprises!

It was a normal Saturday until after lunch when Hubby said we were going on a mystery tour.  I love mystery tours, my Dad used to do them when we were young.  We all bundle in the car, often with a picnic and only the driver knows where we are going!

SAM_0332838

This time we ended up in the village of Hampden Park, where I lived all my childhood and until I got married.  We drove around the village, past all three of my schools, over the railway line where at infants school we would wave to the trains from the playground hoping it would be a friendly driver who would beep at us!  Into the village where we saw the shop I used to buy sweets in which is still a newsagents but which sadly had rather a lot of empty shops.  Then round the estate, past the house where I lived, past the garage block where my cousin and I climbed on the roof and got shouted at!   Past the rec where we used to dam up the stream, play ball etc and back into the village.

SAM_0254760

Finally we ended at the park (also called Hampden Park). It is one of those parks that offers a bit of everything.  Swings and slides, a large field for ball games, a wood, a cafe and a lake.

SAM_0257763

We spent many happy hours here every holidays and every Sunday morning for years Dad would take us for a walk and we would feed the duck.  Now it is nearly all gulls on the lake.

As we rounded the corner we were greeted with all of my younger nieces and nephews on my side of the family with a banner they had all coloured a part of.

It was so lovely, I had to wipe a tear or two!

SAM_0241747

It was too early for the daffodils as they are in a quite shady area.  (I am hoping maybe to get there in the next couple of weeks to see them).  But the crocuses were amazing!

We walked around the lake, where there were some fantastic reflections

SAM_0259765

the children all pleased to be together, happy scrambling around,

SAM_0261767

playing in the stream, and with sticks,

SAM_0276782

climbing tress

SAM_0262768

and Playing Pooh sticks at the same bridge we did as children.

SAM_0339845

We had a photo shoot of all the children on a fallen tree.

Where there was another tree with a very unusual base.

SAM_0320826

Then around the lake we came to this tree.  This was my favourite tree as a child, I always loved scrambling over the twisted roots.

SAM_0359865

Next to the tree is another little Pooh sticks bridge, thankfully nobody fell in!!

SAM_0352858SAM_0333839

Josh (in the green) as enthusiastic as ever!

Then we left the park and headed back to my Sister’s house for a birthday tea together.

with a lovely birthday cake, made by my sister and iced by my sister-in-law.

IMG_0306

The children played games and then we sang one of my favourite hymns around the piano and ended the day with prayer together.

It was simple but it meant so much to me to have that time with those that I love so much.

I hope you all had a great weekend too.

Sharon xx

2 thoughts on “A Mystery Tour and More Surprises!

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

