Outdoor room and WIPs!

I hope you all had a lovely Easter, we did.  We had special chapel services on Friday, which always makes Easter special, spent time visiting some ill, elderly friends, spent time with other friends and did jobs in the garden.

On Monday Hubby got the garden room ready.  He put the gazebo cover on so that I have some shade now that the sun is getting stronger, (The Lupus makes me photosensitive) and got out the garden chairs.

SAM_06041073

The gazebo is over a decked area where we have a picnic table and a pond.

SAM_06071076 SAM_06051074

In the summer this area becomes an outdoor lounge and dining room – we have just eaten our dinner together outside – it is also a lovely place to relax together or with friends and do some crochet.  I was able to put it to good use today with a dear friend chatting and crocheting/knitting while the children played. (Thankfully Josh was being quite restrained with his football today so we didn’t have to dodge the ball!).

SAM_06031072

I have started another crochet project….. I know…. I have so much on the go but I needed another project I could do without having to think too much!! I am using some yarn I purchased half price about a year ago to make a string market bag!  The pattern uses a 10mm hook so it is growing quickly (just the way I like it!!)

Hubby has also finished building his vegetable boxes

SAM_06101079 SAM_06091078

and the entrance to Josh’s underground den.

SAM_06111080

He has put another veg box on top of the entrance.

SAM_06121081

Josh gourd seeds are doing really well and are now outside during the day.  He has also planted sunflowers and sweetpeas today.

SAM_06081077

I have now finished my third piece of spinning.  Since watching the new video I have improved significantly.  I have spun some very fine yarn which I am hoping to ply with another colour, maybe a rust. I still need to improve my joining, it tends to get a bit thicker where I join.  The other yarn I have used straight away but this time I hope to try plying it.

SAM_06151083

Now the spindle is empty Josh is having a try at spinning.  He has chosen a khaki green.  I need to talk to Howard sweetly to make me another spindle so that I can get on with the next colour!

SAM_06161084

Abi has been so busy with college work that she has had little time to relax 😦  Still, she only has a few weeks and then it will all be over.

SAM_06201087

Now the weather is improving I want to get the scarf for my sister finished as it feels a bit wintry to crochet a chunky scarf on a beautiful sunny day!

SAM_06131082

You can start to see the slight difference in pattern on the two sides now.

I think that is about all this end, did you manage any creativity this weekend?

Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to leave a comment.  I will always try to reply as soon as possible.

3 thoughts on “Outdoor room and WIPs!

  1. This has made me want to press on to get our outdoor lounge up again! I love making things in the outdoors under a gazebo – many a happy day was spent this way last year:)

    Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

