Draw a Bird Day.

Inspired by the Creativity Cauldron I have joined in with ‘draw a bird day’.  Since the 1940’s 8th April has been draw a bird day. A little girl called Dorie visited her wounded Uncle in hospital, cheering him by asking him to draw her a bird.  This inspired other wounded soldiers until the ward was covered in pictures of birds.  Sadly Dorie died a few years later and she was remebered by people drawing a bird on April 8th. You can read the whole story here.

Here is my attempt at drawing one of budgies – Pippin.

IMG_1450253

It took about 20 mins to draw and then colour with water colour pencils. It isn’t perfect but I am pleased with it as I haven’t drawn much at all for years. I am so pleased that I took the time to join in with remembering this little girl all these years later.

You can draw any bird, using any medium, you don’t have to be good at drawing – it could be a stick bird!  I would to see your pics if you join in 🙂

Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

5 thoughts on “Draw a Bird Day.

  1. Thanks for sharing the link and for sharing the picture your drew. Looks really good – unlike mine which more proves the point you don’t have to be good at drawing.

    Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

