A Quick Make and Wips

I have been busy with various crafty bits here.  Today I decided to make a quick pop up thread catcher.  I have seen them a couple of times on Chris’s blog UK City Crafter and after crocheting all those squares together for my blanket I have got fed up with all the yarn ends lying around and ending up all over the place, usually attached to me somewhere!  I used this tutorial Chris recommended on YouTube.

IMG_1654

IMG_1655

I like the way it folds down and still keeps the thread safe inside!  Thanks Chris, I love it 🙂

My PJ cases are coming on slowly, I have just started embroidering onto the aprons, it has been very relaxing to sit and embroider again.  The design I am using is one I embroidered on a pram quilt when I was expecting Abi.

IMG_1649

Just a little peep for today, I hope to do a proper post when they are all finished.

I have made a good start on Abi’s stocking pressie, in fact I finished it but the yarn I used was thinner and I wasn’t happy with it so I am about a third of the way through the second edition.  I am a lot happier with it this time.

I have some yarny plans for Josh’s stocking present this month.  I hope to KNIT him 3 budgies in colours similar to ours and sit them on a hoop similar to this.

budgies knitting pattern budgerigar  PDF email toy budgie bird parrot

I have downloaded the pattern for the above budgies from Etsy. I had pinned several crochet budgies but I just didn’t like them as much as these.  I then considered making my design but in the end I thought it was about time I stopped avoiding knitting and used the pattern I like.

I shall start with Tookey as he is completely yellow and then move on to the others.

IMG_6065

IMG_6079

While on the subject of the budiges, there has been a lot of excitement in our house, Tookey (yellow) and Pippin (yellow and green) have been mating.  Tookey has been busy in the nesting box preparing to lay.  We are really hoping she will lay some eggs in the next few days! 🙂

That’s about all for now, off to puzzle a bit more over how to do my blanket border!

Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I always try to reply as soon as possible. x

12 thoughts on “A Quick Make and Wips

  1. That thread catcher is really cute.. I haven’t seen one before. It looks complicated! I am a poor knitter, crocheting is much easier for me but seeing those budgies make me want to improve. How exciting it will be if your little birds have eggs and babies! I just love those little parakeets.. I can’t imagine how cute they must look when they’re tiny. I hope their efforts result in babies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The thread catcher is surprisingly easy, it took about 3/4 hour tops, I loved making and will definitely be making more for gifts. I am going to give the budgies a go, not sure how well the knitting will go! I think at first baby budgies are rather ugly but when their feathers start to come through they are incredibly cute from what I have seen on YouTube! x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You have got a lot of interesting crafting going on, Sharon! Absolutely love the thread catcher. I would love to give it a go, thanks for the link for the tutorial. The embroidery looks lovely, I like the colours. The budgies are so cute!

    Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

