Finished at last.

It’s been a journey but it is finished at last and I love it!

I started my Owl and flower granny blanket nearly two years ago.  In fact it started as a flower blanket but then Abi’s love of owls got in the way and I began to crochet owl squares too.

I then set it aside and didn’t work on it for several months before Sandra’s Blanket Along gave me the incentive to get going again.

I had a bit of a set back (here) but I feel the changes that it necessitated are a great improvement.  (wow, that sounded a bit posh for me!!!)

I carefully planned the layout.  I wasn’t sure whether to do it random or in diagonal stripes.  Inspired by Ericka I got out the felt tips and had a play.  I was too impatient to do the beautiful mock squares Ericka did mine were just blobs and rough colouring but it gave me the idea.

Within seconds I knew that I did not want diagonals so I was then left to find a random pattern.  I had a third with yellow borders, a third green and a third rust.  Then I also had one third owls and two thirds flowers.  It was actually easier than I had anticipated but even then my ‘pattern’ got a bit messy!

I started to join and after a while realised that I wouldn’t need all the squares and I also decided to square it off.  This has left me with 18 squares, just enough to make two 3×3 cushions with plain backs!

I wanted to keep the border simple, so I crocheted one round in double crochet (US single crochet), followed by pairs of trebles (US doubles) but worked as for cable by missing a stitch and working one treble and then going back and working the second treble into the stitch I had missed. This was followed by a shell edging in rust.

I love the simple shadows the border creates.

I  blocked it yesterday while the weather was still warm.  Only just in time as it has turned dull, cold and windy here this afternoon and we are forecast a wet weekend.

So, here it is at last – have I really been mad enough to plan another four?!

IMG_1850

IMG_1877

(I used this pattern for the flower squares and this one for the owl squares, adding an extra round to each as I joined as you go.)

I hope you all a great weekend and lots of Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

34 thoughts on “Finished at last.

    1. Thank you so much. The process evolved rather over time but I like the end result. My design notes were rather scruffy but they certainly helped and made the joining process quicker. Have a great weekend. x

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Bekki , I am pleased with the owls too, they just add a bit of cuteness and fun! There is quite a bit of owl influence in this house :-). The book ‘old hushwing’ is to blame for that, it was Abi’s favourite as a toddler. (I must admit, I loved it too! X

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is so pretty! The design and colors work beautifully and the border adds such a nice touch to the whole thing. You must have such a nice feeling of accomplishment, spreading it out and seeing it all finished and coming out so great!

    Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

