Two Gifts Finished!

With so many things on the go it seems to take ages to come to the end of anything!  Today I finished my first creation from the Edward’s Menagerie book.  I love the creatures in this book and the patterns are really easy to follow. Emma the Bunny is for another baby addition to my extended family.

IMG_2160

(She looks a little as though she is smirking in this photo, I’m not quite sure why the photo made her look like that, I think it may be the way the light caught her!)

One of my cousins has just had her fifth child, a little girl.  With another three expecting there will hopefully be some more baby gifts crochet this year!

I have also finally got around to taking some photos of the scarf I have made for my sister.

IMG_2157

For those of you who are interested,  I used Hayfield Bonus chunky yarn in a light and dark grey. I started with light grey and made a foundation double crochet row of 150 stitches.  (U.S. fsc).  I love using a foundation row instead of working the first row into the chain.  I really do not enjoy working into those starting chains!

For anyone who hasn’t tried it there is a tutorial here on Sandra’s Cherry Heart blog.  There are also video tutorials on YouTube, once you get the hang of it you won’t want to go back to working into those starting chain!

I then worked a row of trebles (U.S. doubles) into the back loops only, turn.  Followed by a row of trebles worked in the front loops only. (Each row is started with 2 chain, the first treble is then worked into the bottom of the same stitch (the 2 chain are not counted as a stitch).  I continued with this pattern until it was the width I wanted – 7 rows of trebles.  I finished with a row of double crochet to match the foundation double crochet at the beginning and fastened off. So to summarise, on one side, all the rows are worked into the front loops and on the other side all of the rows are worked into the back loops.  Alternating as you switch sides.

For the Border I used the dark grey and worked double crochet evenly around all four edges.  Then on the two short sides I worked open shells along the edge.  *3ch into first dc, miss a dc, 1tr into next dc, 3ch, miss a dc, dc into next dc,*  repeat to the other end of that short edge. Repeat on the other short edge.

I hope that all makes sense!

IMG_2153

I like the way that each side of the scarf has a slightly different pattern.

The budgies are nearly all sewn up now so hopefully a budgies post by the end of the week!

Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

8 thoughts on “Two Gifts Finished!

  1. I know what you mean about having several projects on the go feeling like you never get there, but variety I’m sure motivates to. Your bunny is sooo cute! Lovely scarf too, but the bunny has won my heart 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ooh! I was only looking at an ad for Edward’s Menagerie the other day and admiring the cute cover and thinking it would be such a lovely book to own, but I did not order it because I knew that I probably wouldn’t get around to making any of the projects at the moment with so much to do already. Thus I was so excited to see that you have made something from that book and your Emma the bunny is so cute. I will be watching closely for more characters from the book that you might make. We love bunnies and budgies in our household (and we have an Emma too) so this has been a happy post to read. 🙂
    Congratulations on a new baby in the fold – always exciting and a good reason for lots of cute little crocheted things! Have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They really are adorable little creatures in the book. Much of the pattern is standard for all animals so it should get easier with each one I make! We certainly have plenty of babies in our family, my sister has 9 children. my brother is expecting his 5th and I have cousins with 7,6 and 5 children as well as others with less. Thankfully we are a really close family and I am in touch with all of my 19 cousins and their families!

      Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

