All Sorts!

Firstly for those of you who may be wondering, our water came back on Monday late afternoon.  Josh was pleased to get a day off school. Two days without water soon makes you appreciate being able to just turn a tap or flush the toilet!

IMG_1716

I had meant to show you our blossom but somehow it just didn’t happen.  It was beautiful while it lasted.

IMG_1704

Josh has recently started to walk home from school on his own.  He has wanted to for sometime but we have skirted the issue for a while.  It is hard letting go, giving him that first little bit of complete independence!  To me, he is still my baby, the little one we prayed for for seven years, that little brother for Abi.

SAM_0649

I think the extra responsibility has made him feel more grown up.  He has been extra thoughtful and helpful at home.  The first Tuesday he made me want to cry.  He asked if he could take some money to school on Wednesday as he wanted to buy something on the way home.  I groaned inwardly thinking ‘here we go, sweet shop trips already!!’  I asked him what for and he replied ‘there is a man selling plants from his garden on the way home and I wanted to buy one for you!’  Next morning as he said goodbye he reminded me, ‘don’t forget that I might be a bit late home this afternoon, you will remember won’t you, I don’t want you to get worried’.  He came home with these. 🙂

IMG_1924 IMG_1926

Then Thursday afternoon he arrived home with some runner bean plants for Daddy!

IMG_1929

He was complaining this morning that he hasn’t yet walked in the rain, well, with tomorrow’s forecast being for wet weather we shall see if he enjoys it as much as he thinks he will.  He always has been one to want to play out in the rain so maybe he really will enjoy it.

With my spinning, I have finished my 2 colours and plyed them together.  Then of course I couldn’t wait to use it so I hope to have a tada post soon 🙂

IMG_2273336

I have also been up-cycling and re-purposing and hopefully next week I shall be able to show you that too.  I am really pleased so far.

I have finished my monthly challenge make for Josh and I love it.  It used up some scraps which is always good.  More about that at the end of the month.

IMG_2237314

Abi finishes her textile coursework at the end of the week so I am looking forward to her having a bit more free time for some girly crafting sessions (and also getting the dining table back).

SAM_06201087

The garden is really springing to life.  Hubby thinned out the radishes and there were several big enough to eat 🙂

IMG_2277

Josh’s gourds were growing like crazy indoors, so they are now outside.

IMG_2314

We are really hopeful that we will get some fruit on them so that we can make things with them.  We will need some patience though as from what I have read I think they will need to dry out for several months.  Maybe this time next year if all goes well.

The blue tits are busy backwards and forwards with food for their babies.

SAM_0656

You can just see one on the left.

We have also had a Mummy and Daddy blackbird, first collecting twigs, then worms and now they bring their babies into the garden and feed them. (You can just see them on the playhouse roof.)

IMG_2708

Yesterday evening when Hubby was outside the Daddy blackbird was kicking up a din and the gulls and crows were circling.  A while later a sparrowhawk dive bombed Hubby.  Later the gulls, rooks and crows were all circling it and trying to see him off.  The tits are still feeding today and the Daddy blackbird has been in feeding the babies but no sign of Mummy so we are hoping she wasn’t caught.  I know the sparrowhawk probably has its own babies to feed but I don’t like to think of it taking ‘our’ birds!

IMG_2671

Also along the ‘nature’ lines, Josh has used his pocket money to buy a live mouse trap.  We regularly get mice in the garden.  He set it last night and caught a very cute little mouse.  He has made a temporary home for it in his old stick insect vivarium.  He is going to study it for a day before setting it free somewhere else.

IMG_2680

I was just about to hit publish when Abi came home – wet through!!  She had had to go to Eastbourne and had decided to have a swim in the sea while she was there, fully clothed.  She had even got her hair wet!! The madness of youth 🙂

Hopefully I shall be back soon with my latest crafting makes.

Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

14 thoughts on “All Sorts!

  1. What a lovely picture you paint of everyday family life! It’s great that you let your children play in the rain/sea on a whim – they grow out of this stage all too soon. Fab photo of the cute little mouse, although does Josh realise he’ll have to release it at least five miles away or it will come straight back again…?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, they make me happy, I think the little things in life are so precious.
      I was trying earlier to leave you a comment on your latest post but every time I hit publish it disappeared, so you either have about four or none!! I hope you soon feel a lot better :-). Xx

      Like

    1. It was super cute of him, I was so touched. He has caught three more mice since, so I think they may be a family. Two were in the same day and when he put them together they cuddled up! So gradually they are being relocated, hopefully they will find each other!

      Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

