Family Recipes to Share.

I just wanted to share with you a couple of our family recipes.  The first recipe is Great Aunty Esther’s Cheese scones and the second recipe is Aunty Marion’s Hungarian biscuits.

IMG_2261329

Aunty Esther’s Cheese Scones

Ingredients

8oz (225g) Self Raising Flour

Salt and Pepper (I use a shake or two of cayenne pepper)

1 level teaspoon Mustard Powder.

3oz (75g) Hard Margarine or Butter

6oz (175g) grated cheddar cheese

Approx 6 tablespoons (3 fluid oz) Milk

Method

1 – Preheat the oven to 200 C (gas mark 6 or 400 F)

2 – Sieve the flour, salt and pepper into a bowl.

3 – Rub in the marge/butter until it looks like breadcrumbs.

4 – Add the grated cheese and mustard powder and mix well.

5 – Add the milk and mix to a soft dough.

6 – Roll out to about 3/4″ (2cm) thick and cut into rounds.

7 – Place on a baking tray and bake at for approx 12 minutes.

8 – After a couple of minutes transfer to a wire cooling rack to cool.

IMG_2253328

Aunty Marion’s Hungarian Chocolate Biscuits

IMG_2263331

Ingredients

For the biscuits…

8 oz (225g) Soft Margarine

4 oz  (100g) Castor Sugar

8 oz (225g) Self Raising Flour

2 oz (50g) Cocoa

Few drops of Vanilla Extract or Essence

For the butter cream icing…

4 oz (100g) Butter or Hard Margarine, softened

8oz (225g) icing (confectioners) sugar plus a little more for dusting.

30ml (2 tablespoons) fresh milk

few drops of Vanilla Extract or Essence

Method

1 –  Preheat oven to 190 C (gas mark 5 or 375 F)

2 –  Cream the margarine and sugar until light and fluffy.

3 –  Stir in the flour, cocoa and vanilla to form a stiff paste.

4 –  Roll into balls the size of a walnut.

5 –  Place onto silicone cookie sheets or greased baking trays and flatten about halfway with a fork dipped in cold water.

6 –  Bake for 9 minutes.  Leave on tray for 2 minutes before transferring to a wire cooling rack until cold.

7 –  Meanwhile make up the butter cream by beating the margarine/butter until soft.

8 –  Gradually beat in the sugar, vanilla and milk.

9 –  Continue beating until light and fluffy.

10 -Spread some butter cream onto one of the biscuits and place another on top to sandwich them.

11 – Dust with icing sugar.

IMG_2267332 IMG_2262330

Enjoy,

Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

28 thoughts on “Family Recipes to Share.

  1. Mmmm I’m going to make Auntie Marion’s biscuits, maybe at the weekend as I have all the ingredients! I love family recipes! You’ve reminded me to make some Auntie Pat cakes too which is what’s in my family – although not actually Auntie Pat’s recipe, she just takes the credit for them because they were first eaten at her house!! X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How sad that you need to exclude sugar nowadays. Is that all sugars (including natural sugars in foods like fruits and vegetables) or only refined sugars and honey etc.? You may find that by cutting out on sugar, you lose the taste for sweet things after a while.
    I do enjoy savoury flavours so the thought of your cheese scones with cayenne pepper made my mouth water…cheese and bacon make a winning combination but we are not averse to pumpkin scones in Australia either.
    Perhaps it is time to experiment with new recipes – a change is as good as a holiday! Thanks for sharing your recipes. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I am having to exclude sugars because of my sjogrens, it makes my mouth so dry that I don’t have any saliva to protect my teeth. I have got to have three more fillings, that makes six this year so far! I have had sjogrens for 8 years but never been given any advice, just salivary pastilles. I have a new dentist and she said people with sjogrens shoudn’t have any sugar in their diet! She said no to orange juice so I shall probably just avoid acidic or high sugar fruits. I have started a ‘savoury snacks’ pinterest board 🙂 I guess it will do me good in lots of ways to cut out sugar, I just need to get used to it. xx

      Like

      1. Your dentist is right about avoiding sugars and acidic things. My son had issues with teeth cleaning when he was young. We couldn’t get a toothbrush in his mouth without a fight. Fortunately he only ever drank water; sugary foods were very occasional; e.g. at birthday parties etc. After 8 or 9 years he finally accepted toothbrushing and we were astounded that he had NO dental caries whatsoever! I thought you might appreciate that anecdotal evidence to support your dietary regime. I found that my dry mouth issues were exacerbated by various medications too. Experimenting with dosages was useful.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. We are still trying to work out whether it’s lactose or casein that is causing some trouble or something else altogether, so I can’t even have lactose free foods at the moment. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

