More Spinning – including my first Selfies :~} !!

I’ve been spinning again! After quickly using my first two yarns that I had spun without plying because I just couldn’t wait to use them, I decided this time to spin two different colours and then ply them together.  The spinning went very well.  My spinning improves each time and these were quite fine although there were some blips where it was a bit thicker particularly where I had to join.

SAM_06151083IMG_2271334

I enjoyed the plying so much.  It is so much faster for me than spinning and I loved watching the twist emerge.  I had wound the two balls into one double stranded ball which made the plying a lot easier than I think it would have done otherwise.

IMG_2272335

I then washed and dried it (how I love this sunny weather).

IMG_2273336

Well, as soon as I had it plyed I was then itching to crochet something with it. It couldn’t be too big as there wasn’t a huge amount of yarn.  It was also fairly fine, mostly about 2 ply.  I chose a shawl pattern that if made smaller could be a triangular scarf.  It was a bit complicated but I enjoyed it until I realised that there wasn’t even enough yarn for it to be a scarf, groan.

So I decided to use this cowl pattern which is crocheted in long rows so it could be thinner if necessary… I had enough yarn 🙂

Démodé Summer Cowl

It worked up ever so quickly.

So then it was time to take my first ever selfies!

IMG_2696510 IMG_2695509 IMG_2696341

Abi has just seen these and found them hilarious!  Delightful teenager 😉

I suppose the cowl could also be double looped for extra warmth..

So now I can’t wait to get spinning again!  I can only do it for 5 or 10 minutes before my neck gets too painful to continue so I am going to try to spin a little most days.  This time I am also hoping to spin about twice the amount so that I can make something a bit bigger.

If you fancy trying something new then I would definitely recommend giving spinning a try.  You can get all you need for under £15.  Until next time…

Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

27 thoughts on “More Spinning – including my first Selfies :~} !!

  1. I’ve never seen anything like your cowl. It looks very nice though – and complicated! I love the colour. Congratulations on the selfies too!!

    Like

  2. Well done on the whole process! So let me see if I got this right: you plyed the yarn whilst having it already stranded together? How curious, I’ve never seen anyone do that before! Did you get a balanced yarn?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wound each colour off the spindle into two individual balls, I then took the end of each ball together in my hand and wound them into one single double stranded ball, I then played them together from this ball. I hope that makes sense, I always talk whilst wildly waving my hands about to demonstrate!! Doesn’t work so well here 🙂

      Like

              1. Ah, Respect The Spindle! Heard of it, but never bought it because I don’t have a spindle… Since we’re talking useful things, I’m currently reading Spinner’s Book of Fleece, also very good! Thanks for sharing 😊

                Like

  3. Hi Sharon,
    You look lovely in your photos. Your kindness shines through in your eyes. Don’t worry about teenagers – living with teens – another thing we have in common!
    It is always fascinating to discover the results when blending colours and textures. I’m glad you found a cowl pattern that made effecient use of your product. I’m like Sewchet in that I too have a hand spindle but not sure where to start with it.
    One day… 🙂 Jodie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, thanks Jodie, you are so kind. Spinning is so much easier than I thought. The video I was recommended is great. I get so much satisfaction out of it. It is rather slow going as I can only do short amounts at a time before it messes my neck up but I think that just makes the yarn more special. 🙂

      Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

