Wips and Ideas…

Things have been pretty busy round here with birthday preparations but I just wanted to pop by with a few pics of my wips.  Firstly my spinning.  I have started spinning my fourth lot of yarn and I am enjoying it as much as ever.  I have chosen these two colours.

SAM_06881154

I have already spun these two, I spun a strip of the grey followed by a strip of blue until I had spun it all.

IMG_3219028

I have now moved onto these two colours, navy and teal.

SAM_06891155

When they are both finished I hope to ply the two yarns together to give a multi coloured effect.  It is rather slow going only doing a little at a time but with so much else on the go it doesn’t really worry me.

I am spinning it quite fine and I am really pleased with how even I am now managing to get the yarn.

IMG_3237042

Here it is next to some no8 crochet thread.  I am hoping there will be enough this time for a lacey shawlette.

I have hardly touched my patchwork hexies lately but they are great to have nearby to do an odd one in a spare moment.

IMG_3234039

I am nearly halfway through my monthly challenge makes for the children,

but I’m not sure what I shall be making for Me/the Home this month.

I have made the fronts of the cushions I am making with the leftover squares from my owl and flower granny blanket and have started on the backs.

IMG_3240043

The embroidery on the aprons for the bunny/mice Pj cases is coming along little by little.  I have to do these in daylight as my eyes are no longer good enough to do detail stitching in the evenings 😦

IMG_1648284

But all of this has been on the back burner this week as I have been busy making bits for Abi’s 18th.  There has been a bit of crochet, including a new pattern to share with you.  I have been busy with my machine on two other gifts and also added a little hand quilting and I have some embroidery not yet started.

IMG_3241044

I have also been trying to finish the felted picture I am making for my Mum.  Here is a little peek at one of the beginning stages.

IMG_3168007

Now for the ideas!  Well, I have so many ideas of things I would like to make so I will just tell you about the ones I am hoping to get on with in the next few weeks.

I would love to make some more project bags (now, why ever I would need more?!!).  I can’t see a pattern that is quite what I am looking for so I shall be combining one or two styles and attempting my own pattern.

I started my spiral blanket but after several rows it got frogged, I just wasn’t happy with it, I’m not sure why, I think it just seemed a bit flat. Here is what it looked like.

SAM_0696

So, when I couldn’t sleep one night I lay and thought of all sorts of blankets I have seen and nearly settled for another round ripple when I had a fantastic idea, or at least I absolutely love the idea!  This is where I tease you because I want to get a bit further with it before I show you but here is the tiniest peek.

IMG_3858

I know, not much of a clue there but I will try and show you more soon when I have the first trial bit done. It is something I have never seen done before for a crochet blanket but I am sure someone, somewhere, has done it already.

While I was planning in my crafty notebook I came across this note from Abi…

SAM_0693

It made me smile.  (Nunars is a nickname I somehow acquired in our courting days!)

My other idea is for a sewing/project book.  I have seen a couple recently but they don’t have quite what I am looking for so the creative brain cells will be getting another workout on a pattern for this one 🙂

Phew, well I must get going, I have a cake to ice, one gift not even started and three more to finish, not to mention Mum’s picture to finish!

What are you up to? Are you a little crazy like me with several wips or are you more organised and like to finish one thing at a time?

Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

9 thoughts on “Wips and Ideas…

  1. so many lovely things to look at! The yarn is beautiful, I haven’t touched my drop spindle since I learnt to spin, I think it’s because I don’t knit! The felt picture will be lovely, I’m looking forward to seeing more of that and the embroidery. I always have half a ton of WIPs on the go, I’m not very good at being project monogamous, though lately I’ve only been working on a cross stitch.
    Thanks for your comments on my blog, I couldn’t reply as you’re a no-reply blogger so your email isn’t available to me. if you want some help with it, reply to this comment in the email as I don’t go back to check for replies to my comments on blogs – I barely have enough time read the posts of blogs I follow once, let alone twice!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a very long list, Sharon and an interesting one too! Making your own yarn is a lot of fun, I used to be my Grandma’s little helper with that but she used an electric machine for that. Your little hexagons remind me of a few things on my To Do list. The Owl and Flower pillow is going to be a lovely addition to your blanket that is very cute. Just like you, I have a few things going on at the same time, probably because I get easily excited about new ideas and feel like trying them out and I keep adding ideas to my list. Good luck with all your projects!

    Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

