Monthly Challenge – June

Well, it has a very busy month on the creative front with a birthday cake, 18th birthday pressies and a new home gift so have I completed my challenge?  Well, yes and no I guess!

I did (just) manage to get the children’s stocking presents done.  I chose something fairly quick and easy this month as I had several makes planned for Abi’s 18th.  I crocheted them both a wash cloth and bath pouf.  For Abi I used a cheerful multi coloured yarn.

IMG_3836

I ordered several balls of this cotton yarn with wash cloths in mind.  I found it online but the writing is in Japanese. Since I have finished the crochet I found a little bit of writing in English including dry clean only – oops!!  Not ideal for a wash cloth so I shall just have to hope that it stands up to being wet rather a lot of the time!

For Josh I used two different yarns that I had in stash.  The wash cloth is not actually wonky but I couldn’t seem to get it to photograph right!  I think maybe I was a bit to one side.

IMG_3837

I love the way the multi coloured yarn has worked out in both of the yarns but I think this is my favourite. it was creme de la creme yarn in earth and sky.  I had ordered it some time ago from America.  I have not seen any since which is a shame as I love the colourway but I cannot remember who I ordered it from!  I think I need to get more organized and write down the websites use from as I can’t rely on my memory these days!

The wash cloths are bumpy but the yarn is soft and they feel lovely against your face.  I used this pattern from crochet spot for them.  The bath pouf pattern was from Daisy Cottage designs and is really simple but makes a lovely puffy scrubby.

I am hoping that they will be pleased with them.  I shall certainly be making more at some point for the bathroom but that will have to wait until after Christmas and I have given them theirs.

Now onto my ‘Me’/home make.  Here is where I am cheating a little.  With all the extra crafting I haven’t got around to making anything for me or the home so my make for that is the elderflower champagne!

IMG_3520

This wasn’t just for me although I enjoyed my fair share neither was it for the home but it will have to do this month as the four bits I have started for me are not finished 🙂

In other areas of creativity I am still slowly spinning a little most days, although there was a 2 week gap when I wasn’t well enough to do any at all.  I have started a crochet shawl and I shall tell you more about that soon just to say that I love it already.  I have one dress cut out and the fabric for another two.  I have done a couple of alterations and have more to do (mainly shortening summer clothes – I’m only 5’2″) and finally…

…. hopefully this week I will be able to show you the first two sections of my new blanket which I love so far and I am actually quite excited about! 🙂

Well, that’s all for now but have a great week and Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

9 thoughts on “Monthly Challenge – June

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

