A Country Walk!

A walk in the country probably doesn’t sound so exciting to most of you but for me it is a very rare treat.  Due to the Lupus and Fibromyalgia I am only able to walk short distances with a stick or else use a wheelchair or my mobility scooter so walks through the fields are not an option any more.  What I am able to enjoy though are the walks some of you share here.  A couple of my favourites are Ericka Eckles (I love learning about all the wild flowers in her posts and then seeing them embroidered a few weeks later)  and also Bunny Mummy whose walks are through the most beautiful English countryside.  But last week was different.

Abi and I took another trip to the pretty village of Alfriston in East Sussex.

IMG_334502

(We went there to explore on her birthday and had a lovely meal out in the Singing Kettle.)

IMG_349803

The streets are narrow with gorgeous flint cottages, some with tiny little front doors, people must have been considerably shorter back then!

IMG_394405

Abi was meeting someone for coffee so I took myself off on my scooter and treated myself in the little village stores

IMG_348102

to a bakewell tart and some posh lemonade

IMG_398406

which I ate on the green by the village church and then enjoyed the sights and sounds of village life while I crocheted.

IMG_398507

When Abi rejoined me we decided to see if I would be able to access the river path.

IMG_400009

To the right the path was rather bumpy but I was able to glimpse the view through these trees.

IMG_400310

 

After a while and I grounded on the tree roots!  After a lot of pushing from Abi I got going again and we headed the other way.

IMG_403014

Here a smooth grass path ran behind the back of church and parallel to the river.

IMG_400911

I managed to bump the scooter up a small step to cross this long bridge.

IMG_405716

Looking over the edge we could see some water lillies

IMG_407817

 

and at the other end a kissing gate led into the field.  (As children we loved these gates and one would pass through leaving the gate halfway and we would kiss over the gate!)

IMG_410918

There were steps at the end of the bridge so we turned back, past cottages

IMG_411420

and down a narrow track where there was this lovely gate

IMG_412521

and back into the village.

In the car park there was a flint tower

IMG_333701

on further investigation we discovered that it was built as a playhouse!

IMG_334001

It was so lovely to find a partially accessible country walk and lovely to have some girly time with Abz.  I hope you enjoy our walk.

Happy Crafting, I’ll be back soon with a couple of finished items 🙂

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

29 thoughts on “A Country Walk!

    1. Thank you, there are some beautiful places around here, Abi and I are hoping to explore a few more! The embroidery is some hand embroidery I am working on at the moment. Two more to do and then I shall be able to show them to you all properly. x

      Like

      1. I have to wear a hat too as the sun makes my rosacea a lot worse and I notice that I feel a lot worse after I’ve had some sunshine. I’ve been rocking this SPF 60 sunscreen by Vanicream and I still wear a hat and long sleeves. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. So fun to share this lovely walk with you and Abi. Beautiful photos and scenery too! This fall, my husband and I will be celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and we are planning a stay in London and Paris. I have never traveled, and I now have a passport! We have been pouring through travel books and watching YouTube videos that are helpful as we work on an itinerary. It is all so very exciting. Visiting England has been a dream of mine my entire adult life 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, how amazing. I dream of visiting America, Canada and Switzerland! The most I have done is one day trip to France as a teenager. we don’t have the vastness of America but there is some beautiful countryside and pretty villages. We are in the South East in East Sussex. x

      Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

