Monthly Challenge – July. A rummage, yarn and …

This month has flown by.  When I saw Jennifer’s July Martha and Me post (the inspiration for my own challenge) I sort of panicked!  I still had Abi and Josh’s stocking pressies to make!

First though here are a couple of pics of what I made for myself.  If you didn’t see the original post you can read more about them here.

IMG_454803 IMG_453006

So, on to the kids makes.  I was starting to get a bit stuck on ideas for Josh, why are boys and men so hard to make for?  I think I need to start a new trend for men wearing shawls and boys using pretty bags!

Anyhow, off I went to Pinterest and had a good look and (just) managed to find enough ideas that I liked and also think Josh will like to last me to the end of the year, Yay!!

Next I had to order bits so it was off to ebay for some cufflink blanks!

Then a rummage in here

SAM_075505

and a good dose of superglue later I had transformed the blanks into these.

SAM_077111

Still puzzled?  You may have seen the card I made for Abi’s 18th using bits that Dad used in his watch repairing, well I managed to find two watch movements to fit the blanks.  What do you think?  Certainly different.

I think that Josh will love them as he and Abi – well me too actually – are all rather sentimental about any connection to Dad.

Abi’s pressies has been in the back of my mind for a while after reading this post on sadieseasonsgood blog. A teapot sewing caddy!

I searched the charity shops but there were no really pretty teapots about but then I came across these…

SAM_076607

perfect!  I quickly decided that I could do with a caddy as well 🙂

One is a bakery

SAM_076809

and the other a bookshop.

SAM_076708

Ideal as we both love cake baking and books.

It was simply a case of cutting a piece of fabric about 3″ larger than the lid on each side, gather the edges with a running stitch, fill with stuffing,

SAM_074702

pull it up and stitch it closed

SAM_075003

before gluing it into the inside of the lid!

SAM_075304

Tada!  a very different sewing caddy!

SAM_077010

Another month done and I am already halfway through Josh’s make for August.  I am really enjoying this challenge as it really focuses me to keep to my goals (thanks Jennifer).

I may not about much over the next few weeks, Hubby has two weeks off coming up and we are hoping to have a ‘holiday at home’, days out, friends to tea, etc (and hopefully a few jobs around the house if we get a wet day!).

HappyCrafting!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

28 thoughts on “Monthly Challenge – July. A rummage, yarn and …

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

