August Monthly challenge – Lego, shrugs and stitch counter.

August has flown by and here we are in September.   It is getting dark earlier really quickly now and first thing this morning I could just see my breath when I went outside. Josh is back to school this week, Abi has started her new job and I’m thinking about what gifts need making over the next four months!!

I am glad that I joined Jennifer in this challenge as it means I won’t be rushing to make gifts for Abi and Josh.  I did gasp rather the other day though when I started to write all the gifts yet to make, especially as I have had five requests for the ‘feeling dottie’ shawl I made recently.  It’s a gorgeous pattern but being lace it is not the quickest!

So the ‘Me/home’ make this month was a quickie as being the hols creativity time has been in short supply!  I needed a row counter that I didn’t have to have on my needles/hook so I decided to make my own version of one I had seen several people selling on ebay.

SAM_120612

I simple bent the end of a piece of wire into a loop, threaded on two beads, a row counter, two more beads and then bent the wire into another loop.  I added a clip and tada!  It’s great, I can use it when knitting with circular needles or in crochet by attaching it to my work or my jumper!

For Josh it was another simple but effective make.  A lego head jar (you can see some examples here).  I was a bit disappointed that the yellow wasn’t brighter but otherwise I am pleased with it.

SAM_128501

You simply pour yellow paint into the right shaped jar, swill it around to cover all of the inside and leave to dry.  I also painted the lid.  Then you draw the face on the outside using a marker pen.  A great place to keep boyish treasures!

For Abi I wanted to make a shrug with the yarn that I spun.  I found this ‘Glam Girl’ shrug pattern I liked that didn’t use too much yarn.  It looks lovely in the photos but when I read the pattern I was a bit concerned as it was simply a rectangle joined at the corners and then a couple of rows around the armholes.  So I decided to do a trial run first.  It worked out beautifully with just a couple of alterations to the pattern.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So I worked up a second shrug with the yarn I spun.  I am so pleased with it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the way that the colour changes have worked out too.  There was a little yarn left so I made a little something for myself which I shall show you another time.

Well, that’s all for now but I shall be back soon, hopefully with socks on my wips list!!

Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

28 thoughts on “August Monthly challenge – Lego, shrugs and stitch counter.

    1. If you click this link you can see Jennifer’s first post.
      http://www.thistlebearhome.com/2015/01/martha-me-january.html

      She was going to make something each month from her magazine and asked if anyone would like to join her, it didn’t have to be from the magazine, just a monthly make. I had had a mad scrabble with making Christmas presents last year and only had time to knock up a couple of really quick makes for the children after I had finished making gifts for everyone else, so when I saw Jennifer’s post I decided that this year I would put the children first and make something for them and also Me/home each month and so I joined in with Jennifer. x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sharon thank you so much for my winnings!! Came this morning. Wow everything is gorgeous… I will write a post purely to show off haha!! I’ve been wanting some scissors like those so I’m so happy. And that little cat on them – awww!! Thank you thank you thank you!! ❤ ❤

        Like

  1. That shrug is just darling, and I love the lego jar, what a creative idea! I just love those little stitch counters, I think my mom has millions of them, lol – I’d completely forgotten about those. What a clever idea you had!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Sharon,

    It’s lovely to come and see you here, that shrug is really nice and I love how simple it sounds too. A good quickie pattern. Love the blanket in your header pic btw too, really nice.

    S x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sandra, thanks for popping by. The shrug is great and so easy to adapt, I have been thinking of all the lovely crochet stitches it could be made up in! It’s one of those patterns for when you are tired or chatting 🙂 I have just given the blanket to my Sister-in-law for their latest baby, a little girl, she was thrilled with it. x

      Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

