Refugee Teddy!

Last week there was a post on the Crochet between worlds blog saying how Anne, who lives in the Dortmund area of Germany, had over 5000 refugees arrive over the last week in the town. Anne wanted to do something and came up with the idea of teddy bears for the children.  You can read all about it here. 

I knew to crochet a little bear wouldn’t take too long so in the interest of being more creative I decided to just grab a hook, some bright yarn (I’m using that green Bekki! *) and just create my own individual bear.  I jotted down a few notes so I shall try and get a pattern done for you at some point.

It started out looking rather alien like but as I progress he improved!

SAM_128801

I wanted to give him a fat tummy and floppy arms and legs.  I used a coral colour for the arms, legs, ears and snout and altogether I am rather pleased with how he turns out.  He certainly got my nieces approval over the weekend!

SAM_1298

I am sure Anne would love to have anyone else join in if you have a couple of hours to spare with your crochet hook to make a bear for a refugee child.

SAM_129902

I hope to be back soon with my latest make, until then …. Happy Crafting!!

*Bekki had made some knitting samples with some rather bright yellow yarn and I commented that I now knew what to do with the bright green yarn that I had ordered by mistake, I would use it for samples but I think this teddy is a much more fun way of using it 🙂

Have a great week,

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

17 thoughts on “Refugee Teddy!

  1. The colours are very friendly and fun. Without the arms and legs, teddy looked very much like an alien, especially being green! Now that all the pieces are together, your teddy looks ready to love someone special.

    Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

