Blankets…yes in the plural!!

I would have loved to join in Sandra’s blanket cal but having two of my own to do this winter I decided that I will just have to enjoy seeing all of yours!

I have begun the blanket for Josh’s bed.  In the summer I had planned to start it in September hoping to have it ready for his birthday in November.  Hmmm, ambitious I know and with all the Christmas pressie’s I am hoping to make, I have now decided that instead this will be a slow winter project.

I wanted it to be a ripple blanket of some description and have looked at so many pictures but nothing was quite what I was looking for.  Then I made my decision to be more creative (here), With that in mind I decided not to use a pattern but just ‘play’ until I managed to work out the wave that was just what I was looking for. So out came the ‘sample’ yarn. (my mistake online buy of Stylecraft (very) bright green that I used for my refugee teddy.)

I hooked, ripped back, experimented, made all sorts of wiggles

SAM_131004

and zig-zags.

SAM_130903

I learnt a lot about pattern repeats,

SAM_131105

how the increases and decreases affected the curve etc,

SAM_130701

and finally I settled on this as a gentle ocean wave.

SAM_130802

These are the yarns I have chosen, Hayfield Aran tweed with wool.

SAM_131307

I love the fleck in them.

SAM_131408

The only downside is that they are not very portable being 400g balls of Aran weight yarn but that is where the other blanket comes in, more about that in a moment but first, this is the start of it,

SAM_131509

and a closer look at the wave,

SAM_131610

what do you think?

My other blanket you have seen before and that is the patchwork quilt block blanket.  I still love this and the triangles are so relaxing to crochet. It is so portable as each block needs 16 triangles in each of two colours, so I just take along one ball and hook up as many as I can get done in that colour 🙂  I have just finished block three.

SAM_131912

And here are the others.

IMG_3858 IMG_3835

I think things will be rather slow on the blanket front for the rest of this year as I get busy making gifts but hopefully in January I shall be able to really get going with them again.

Are you doing a blanket this winter?

Happy Hooking and Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

27 thoughts on “Blankets…yes in the plural!!

    1. Hi again Cynthia, I was trying to reply to your comment on my Award post and I hit the wrong button and somehow deleted it. I bet if actually wanted to delete something I wouldn’t be able to find out how!! So thanks for your comment, I am so favoured to have such a good sized craft space. xx

      Like

          1. Yes, this time it was a case of the colours being rather different on the screen. I have looked at the stylecraft yarns on various sites since and it is amazing how much the pictures differ. I finally decided to spend out and ordered some of the pegs with the all the stylecraft colours on 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  1. Sharon,
    I love your blankets, My Aunt made so many of the ripple blankets and I am lucky to have one. Its so warm. I do think the quilt squares are wonderful. Would you be willing to share the pattern? Hope you are enjoying a bit of good weather like we are.
    Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I am enjoying the ripple blanket and hoping to do just a couple of rows here and there between making gifts! I am loving making the quilt squares, you can find my pattern in this post
      https://creativityandfamily.wordpress.com/2015/07/01/my-new-blanket-idea-revealed/
      We have just had a couple of days of beautiful warm days and crisp Autumn mornings but back to rain today 🙂 Just the weather to cosy up indoors with my crochet hook! x

      Like

    1. Hi, I think you have found the pattern for the triangles now? They are so much fun and so easy to hook up with little concentration, ‘evening’ crochet!! I am hoping the wave blanket colours will work well, I just need to get a few more ‘waves’ done to really know how it will look but calm and relaxing is the aim!! x

      Like

  2. Wow, Sharon, you are so enterprising in making up so many samples and experimenting in order to find your own solutions. I hope it was fun and not a chore. There’s a great ‘ripple’ book called “200 Ripple Stitch Patterns” by Jan Eaton (Quarto Publishing 2006). It has knitted ripple patterns on even pages and crochet ones on odd pages. LOTS of inspiration. Maybe you can find it near you.
    I especially like your triangle patchwork blocks. They look so even. I can see you have plenty to do between now and Christmas. Enjoy! 🙂

    Like

    1. P.S. Gee, I was so taken with your blankets I forgot to ask: do you mind if I nominate you for a Liebster blogging award? I have listed your blog as one of my favourites on a recent post: http://lupeyloops.blogspot.com.au/2015/09/liebster-antwoorden-in-het-nederlands.html
      and have more information about the Liebster Award on this earlier post:
      http://lupeyloops.blogspot.com.au/2014/11/liebster-blog-award.html
      You are very active in the crafty blogosphere and always have kind words and I would like to recognise you for your efforts. xx

      Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

