Liebster Blog Award!

I was very touched when I realised that Jodie from Loopy Loops Blog had nominated me for a Liebster award, thanks Jodie. I would love to accept so, deep breath, here goes!!

I’m sure a lot of you already know about this award but for those of you who don’t I will give a brief summary. If you want to learn more you can read Jodie’s post here which explains it all very well.

This award has been going for some years and is a way to find new blogs and meet other bloggers.  It supports new and smaller blogs and is a great way of letting others know about your favourite blogs which is is just what I hope to do here.

I have to answer between 5 and 10 questions set by the nominee (Jodie) and then nominate my favourite blogs asking them a few questions, hopefully they do the same and so it grows.

Jodie slightly modified the rules allowing her nominees to choose between 5 and 10 questions from her list which is a lovely idea because if there is a question you really would rather not answer you can miss that one out!  🙂

So here are the questions I chose and here are my answers.

1. Why did you begin blogging?

Well, it all started when something I pinned on Pinterest was originally on a blog.  I loved their site and followed them on bloglovin.  (I wish I could remember who it was!)  From there I followed several other blogs and that was as far as it went for some time.  I then felt that there were so many people out there sharing all this creativity, often for free and I was giving nothing in return, so after some dithering I finally took the plunge in January this year to try and give a little back. I also felt that this would be a great way of documenting what I make.

2. What would you be doing if you weren’t blogging?

Crochet, sewing, embroidery, knitting, spinning etc, basically just more of what I blog about!!

3. May we take a look in your ‘hobby-room’ or craft area (preferably before you have tidied it up)? 😉

Hmmm, I was tempted to miss this one out as tidying the craft room is on my to do list but here it is in all its messy glory!!

On the worktop is my overlocker and Abi’s new machine, along with other bits and bobs.

SAM_132906

Behind the mannequin is our rather large fabric stash although in my defense I will say that well over half of it is recycled or gifted!

SAM_132101

but… it is crammed full and two layers deep!!

On the shelves are all sorts including my many jars of buttons, they fill the lower shelf across the whole width of the photo.  I have buttons from both Howard’s Gran and my Grandad’s collections here.

SAM_132202

Coming around the corner is what is supposed to be a clear area of worktop space but at the moment there are Christmas gifts in progress! On the far right hanging up is the Patchwork Abi made out of all her college bus tickets!

SAM_133007

And beyond that are lots of pens, pencils, brushes etc and lots of bits and bobs in the little drawers.

SAM_132503

Finally, underneath the worktop is crammed even more with bags of things to do, fabric, yarn etc even the red coolbox that is in here for storage is stuffed full !!!

SAM_132805 SAM_132704

So that is our rather full creative space, I won’t show you in the cupboard under the stairs!!

4.  What makes you genuinely, truly, and really happy?

My Faith and my Family are what truly make me happy and anything creative not far behind.

5.  What else would you still really like to learn?

My next knitting goal after the socks is to learn how to do Fairisle.  I would also love to own a spinnning wheel and learn to spin using it, oh, and definitely stained glass too!

6.  What else do we still not know about you?

I love singing and playing the piano. I used to be really competitive, my health stops me doing a lot of things but I still have a little competitivity lurking underneath and it usually surfaces when we play ligretto. The children have inherited my competitive streak so board and card games are played very enthusiastically here!

7. Describe yourself in 3 words.

Enthusiastic, caring and empathetic. (I sometimes think I am too empathetic and take others problems onto myself too much but that is just who I am.)

8. What is, for you, an essential knitting and/or crochet tool?

This would definitely be my Pony Aluminium wool needles.  They have this great plastic loop instead of an eye so they are really easy to thread and the loop being flexible flattens when you pull it through so that you are not tugging and making your fingers sore.

I hope you enjoyed learning a little more about me.

I love so many of the blogs I follow but here are a few  that meet the criteria and that I have chosen to nominate for the award. Firstly I would say, please do not feel obliged to participate but I would love it if you do feel able to join in!

Allie – from Allie-oops Sweet Happy Life

Eleonora – from Coastal Crochet

Bekki – from Dartmoor Yarns 

Dory – from Homemade Crafts and Photos by Dory

Sheila – from Sewchet

Gillian – from Tales from a Happy House

Wendy – from The Crafter’s Apprentice

Tabitha – from The Sewing Nook

Jennifer – from Thistlebear

Chris – from UK City Crafter

Yarn, Books & Roses

There were some more but I thought I had better stop there!!

(I’m not too sure if I have the criteria right but these are people who WordPress say have less than 200/300 followers but there are some that come up saying they have 2 or 3 followers and I know that they have loads! So sorry if I have got it wrong!)

As an award winner you must:

  1. Acknowledge and accept the Liebster Award by leaving a comment on the blog where you were nominated.
  2. Copy and paste the Liebster Award medal (logo) onto your own blog.
  3. Link back to the blogger who awarded you and give thanks.
  4. Answer the questions put to you by the person who nominated you. This is a great way to get to know the people behind the blogs. The number of questions have vary from 5 to 11 depending on who is asking.
  5. On your blog nominate and link to your 5 favourite blogs (or more) that you enjoy but have a small readership (the rules have varied from less than 200 to less than 3000 readers). It could be that they have only been blogging for a short time or have a niche interest but are worthy of gaining more attention in the wider blogging world.  That means the blogs of large, commercial enterprises are not eligible for nomination; nor are blogs that are well publicised in a variety of media and established with tens of thousands of followers.
  6. List your questions for your Liebster Award nominees on your blog.
  7. Inform your nominees by leaving a comment on their blogs.

The Questions I would like you to answer are below.  Like Jodie did I am saying just choose 5 or more from the list below to answer.

  1.  What is your favourite crafting tool?
  2.  What is your favourite craft book
  3.  What is your all time favourite yarn, thread or silks.
  4.  Do you have a project that you have made time and time again?
  5.  Are you hoping to make gifts for Christmas this year and if so approximately how many?
  6.  What is your favourite handmade gift that you have received from somebody else?
  7.  Where do you get your best ideas?
  8.  Where do you sit to do your creating?  If possible could you share a photo?
  9.  Have your creative hobbies changed over the years or do you stick to the same ones?
  10. What do you store your wips and take out projects in?

Have fun answering the questions and I look forward to seeing your answers and also who you may nominate so I can add any other great blogs to my list of those I follow !! 🙂

Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

28 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award!

  1. It was great to see your crafting space! Thanks for the nomination but i’ll decline. I was given this award when i started out blogging a few years ago and i don’t think i fit the criteria. I have over 500 followers on google friends and others on feedly and bloglovin. I think the wordpress stats are just for wordpress bloggers

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. It’s a great space and I am really favoured to have it as we only have a small two bedroom house but the previous owner was a drummer and built this little room in the garden so that he could practice without disturbing the neighbours! This means it is soundproof so I guess I can always scream if things go wrong 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Wow, Sharon, you are hot off the mark! Thank you – your listed trait ‘enthusiasm’ is certainly obvious here 😉
    Your craft space is amazing! To have so much storage is a luxury and it looks like a very busy creative space. It is interesting to see how others organise their craft supplies and perhaps to see new products and new ideas. Your pony wool needle sounds so useful. I will need to keep my eyes open for that.
    Even though you claim to have not tidied your space, it looks very organised nevertheless. An ‘organised’ creative ‘mess’ is much better than a sterile, overly tidy space to me – I would be too scared to start anything if the place was too tidy for fear of messing it up!
    Thank you for accepting the Liebster nomination – I have enjoyed getting to know more about you. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for nominating me Jodie, I enjoyed doing it. My craft space is fairly organised but things I have taken indoors do get dumped when I tidy up indoors and then of course the craft room needs its own tidy up, I need to take my own advice to the children and tidy as I go 😉 we organised that space when Abi started her GCSE textiles so that she had somewhere to work other than the dining table. The work surfaces are all damaged worktops that Hubby managed to get free and the shelves are all odds and end of wood. I am hoping one day to make little crochet strips of flowers, fruit etc to cover the rough edges. Enjoy the rest of your week. xx

      Like

  3. Hi Sharon, and thank you for the nomination – and I just realized that it doesn’t apply to me either, as I have well over 400 followers too, ah well. I had to laugh, reading your questions, your reason for starting a blog is the exact same as mine!!! I loved seeing your creative space, it looks incredibly organized to me – how awesome to have buttons from family – I have no idea what happened to my grandmother’s buttons, I’d love to have them. You’ve really used your space well! It was great fun getting to know you better, and I’m looking forward to checking out those other blogs!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Allie, that’s okay, I did wonder if you had more followers as you always get lots of comments but I think that WordPress is only telling me the number of people who follow through them. I love the way the blogging community is so great at sharing their ideas, I wonder how many others have also started for the same reason? I love my buttons, when we were children my Grandma used to have a card games that needed buttons, we used to love rummaging in her button box and choosing our buttons. xx

      Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

