My Sewing Case

This project has been at the back of my mind since the beginning of the year!  It started with just the idea to make some sort of a  case to hold a few essential sewing bits and bobs in.

The more I thought about it the more ideas I had that I wanted to include!  I gradually, mentally added more and more requirements to my case.

  • It had to be pretty fabric and I wanted to use a little bit of patchwork in the design, include some      embroidery.
  •  It needed to be washable as I intend it to be well used.
  • I wanted to incorporate a thread catcher.
  •  A pin cushion and a place for a couple crochet hooks were a must.
  • I wanted it to be just over A5 wide so that I could carry a downloaded pattern folded in half inside.
  • And somewhere for my little stork scissors.
  • Free standing and able to go over the arm of a chair

As the weeks went by I was gradually builting up a mental picture and then…

…Jenny from Elefantz did this amazing series of posts about the Regency ‘housewives’ or ‘hussif’ sewing cases the ladies used to carry around and I knew that when I had got everything sorted out in my head I would definitely run with this idea.

If you click here you can see the series of posts Jenny did called ‘The tale of a Hussif’, they contain so much information and history on the ‘hussif’ which makes fascinating reading and then there is the tutorial for her own beautiful hussif that she made with a pattern that you can purchase in her shop.

At this point I was really tempted to use Jenny’s tutorial, it is just so beautiful and so much easier than designing my own as by this time we were approaching the summer holidays and I knew my crafting time would drop right off through the summer. I so very nearly did but there were a couple of things on my list that had become a must in my mind, the thread catcher and being free standing in particular.

So, over the summer spare moments were grabbed here and there to design, wander the supermarket (more on that presently) and fabric shop – the best bit 🙂

Anyhow, after all of that waffling this is what I made.  I started with a patchwork for the main strip including a couple of pockets.

SAM_080319 SAM_080218

It has four sections. I had to include thin strips of  fabric between the four sections to make the case deep enough to incorporate the depth of the thread catcher.  I wanted to stiffen it but still keep it washable so after looking at various pelmet stiffeners  I decided to laminate an A4 sheet of laminate with nothing in it, cut it in half and round the corners.  I then laminated these two sheets to create two thick plastic sheets. Here is when it is closed,

IMG_667808

and open…

IMG_666401

The covered elastic flips over to hold the case together but when you open the case out you bring sections one and two up and over in a upturned’ V’ and prop it against the thread catcher and pin cushion to create somewhere to hold a pattern while you are working.

IMG_666502

The thread catcher needed a quite a bit of thinking as the tutorial uses a Pringles tube which of course is not washable.  So this ended up as a supermarket hunt for a similar sized tub that was made of plastic that would not be brittle and crack!  I finally came across a tub of crispy onions made from a tough but squashy plastic,

SAM_0708

which conveniently proved to be almost the same size as a pringle tube!!  I cut out the bits I needed

SAM_0709

to make my washable thread catcher and it worked a treat.

IMG_667707 IMG_667104

Next to the thread catcher is a little pincushion.  I used my large giant yo yo maker for this and topped it with a small yo yo and vintage button from my collection!

IMG_667205

I added a little heart with two pockets to hold my scissors and seam ripper, the idea came from Pinterest, here,

IMG_666802

and somewhere to store a couple of crochet hooks.

IMG_666903

somewhere for threads with a little vintage lace trim,

IMG_667406

and a little stitching to finish it off.

IMG_666601

IMG_667003

So there you have it, my finished sewing case.  It is so useful to have the essentials neatly nearby and a lovely case for when I need to take bits with me. I loved every minute of my sewing case journey and I was pleased in the end that I had taken the time to design my own although I still have a little longing to one day use Jenny’s pattern 🙂

Happy Crafting and have a great week!!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

38 thoughts on “My Sewing Case

  1. I love everything about this project – its cleverness, its prettiness, your beautiful embroidery (you have a talent there – so even) an the best part is that it is perfectly customised for your own needs.
    It doesn’t matter how ‘whizz-bang’ a new storage product is, every one I have come across has some shortcoming that doesn’t cater to one of my needs (and I can be a bit of a perfectionist sometimes). Making your own is the perfect solution.
    Well worth the time taken to mull over the best design for yourself.
    Be proud – it is perfect! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your case is lovely, Sharon. I really like the fabrics you used. I made a roll-up case for my crochet hooks a few years ago, using ideas from several different types of case designs, and it has become one of my favorite craft supply items.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. But the good thing is you get to enjoy it time and time again with every project 🙂
        It will make you feel good before you even start each project – a happy vibe leads to happy results x

        Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

