Monthly challenge – September. Roses, Hand-spun yarn and Sewing.

How can it possibly be the end of another month already!  The time when I reveal my makes for the monthly challenge inspired by Jennifer.  I am really looking forward to showing you this month’s makes so here goes…

Firstly for my ‘Me/home’ make I decided to try to make something using the last bit of my handspun yarn left over from the shrug I made Abi last month.

IMG_4500

I needed a small project so I put the yarn quantity into Ravelry and chose this pattern to make a pair of fingerless mitts.

SAM_135202

I had to do them a little shorter than the pattern stated as I was worried about running out of yarn, I was glad I did as I had to finish the second mitt just a few stitches short.

SAM_136409

The long colour change has meant that the two gloves are noticeably different but I think they are still similar enough not to look too odd

SAM_136913 SAM_136308

and it is so special to wear something that I have spun myself and I have been making good use of these already with the mornings being quite fresh as summer fades into autumn here in England.

The only downside with these is the jog that you get with crochet when you start a new row in the round.

SAM_136510

I think next time I shall work in a spiral.

I have also been busy sewing and when I made Josh’s stocking present for this month I did it factory style and used up all the fabric making it seven times as gifts for my nephews.

I have made seven reading cushions.

SAM_135505

I love this idea, I saw it on Pinterest and immediately thought of my book loving nephews.  It is just a simple cushion with a pocket on the front to store your book.

SAM_137314

I had meant to add a handle but didn’t remember until it was too late!

I have divided each pocket so that there is a small pocket with space for a torch, a mobile phone or maybe a tube of sweets and the large pocket for a book. The fabric is from a duvet I found in a charity shop and looked almost new.

I overlapped the fabric by about 8″ at the back and used Abi’s machine to sew some ‘boyish’ fancy stitching on the seams of the pocket and opening.

SAM_135907 SAM_135706

Now Abi’s make I am really excited about.  It all started with a link to this site by one of you lovely ladies (sorry, my memory is failing me again and I can’t remember who!!). I was fascinated because it was so different…

…How to make beads from rose petals.  So I stripped my rose bushes

IMG_4484

measured them,

IMG_448301

added water, liquidized ,

IMG_448201

heated and then shaped them,

IMG_4485

threaded the pulpy balls onto a knitting needle and balanced them over a bowl to dry in the summer sun.

IMG_4501

The tutorial said they will shrink so I made the beads approx 1″ diameter and I was glad I did as after they had dried they had shrunk to 1/4 ” and dried a beautiful dark red-brown.

They dry really hard and sound as though they are wooden when I drop then onto the table.  They were a bit rough so I sanded them down and I love them so much.  They are supposed to keep their scent if you use highly scented roses but mine had very little scent.

I then decided to alternate the rose beads with wooden beads for a necklace for Abi.

IMG_886505

For a pendant I used a stone with a hole in it that I found at the beach.  (I collect these every time I see one for using as pendants.)

IMG_886404

I used cord to thread them and did a  sliding knot on each end so that the necklace can be adjusted.

I took some rather awkward selfies to try and give the effect of them on but my arms are just not long enough!

Here it is worn shorter

IMG_885902

and longer.

IMG_885701

With the last bead I made another necklace, this time with a shell for a pendant and the rose petal bead just above and wooden beads to compliment it.

IMG_886203

I was just so amazed at how hard the beads were considering that they had come from petals!  These were just so easy and fun to make and was well worth stripping my rose bushes for!

So another month is gone by and I need to get thinking about October makes.  How about you, have you started making Christmas gifts yet?  I hope you have a happy and creative week.

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

27 thoughts on “Monthly challenge – September. Roses, Hand-spun yarn and Sewing.

  1. You made lots of lovely things, Sharon! I love the idea of the reading cushion, and maybe that would keep me from misplacing my Kindle all the time… The rose petal beads surprised me a lot, I had no idea that could be done! The necklace turned out great 🙂
    Have you ever listened to the Woolful podcast? There was a recent episode about a woman who sells yarn with silver in it, and apparently it’s great for people with wrist problems that keep them from knitting – I saw your fingerless mitts and it made me wonder if you’d like to knit a pair with such a yarn! I’d love to try some silver mitts myself…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sharon
    You have been so busy, The fingerless mittens are perfect. I love using up stuff. And what a lovely idea for the pillows and you have Christmas presents made. I have always wondered how rose petal beads were made, thanks so much for such wonderful information. I am so busy trying to get the house prepared for winter and getting stuff made for shows. Have a wonderful day. Carole

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You are always introducing me to new things like the rose petal beads but I especially like your reading cushion.
    I often use a cushion to prop up my book or magazine when reading to save my tired arms and hands but the pocket is a great idea. I am thinking a shorter pocket (like the lip of a music stand) might be useful to stop the book from slipping off the cushion and also holding the page open.
    Cushions are something that I do know how to sew, so you have got me thinking and planning yet again! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

