Winter Projects and Wips (LOTS of…)!!!

Okay, so it’s only just Autumn but as far as projects go autumn and winter merge together.  I was going to do a wips post to update you on all my various projects but then Jennifer from Thistlebear encouraged me to join her ‘Winter Project link Party’.   I love this idea, on the first weekend of each month there will be a chance to post and link to see how everyone else is progressing and encourage each other.

So, what am I working on?  Lol, you may wish you never asked Jennifer, I mean, where do I start?  I guess I should start with the projects that will need the most encouragement in the run up to Christmas and they are Josh’s wave blanket

SAM_131610 SAM_131509

and my patchwork crochet blanket, three blocks done, nine to go!

IMG_3835078

IMG_3858084

SAM_131912

These will be my slow winter projects, slotting in between gifts and other creative distractions!

Then there is the Christmas list!!

Well, the book cushions crossed seven gifts off

but I still have the seven pj cases to finish, just the noses to embroider and a bit of work on the aprons left to do (hopefully in the next week or so).

IMG_896401

Three wigwams following Sheila’s tutorial here.

A bag, something along the campervan line, possibly crochet or maybe sewn?

A gift for a man made with 1/2 m of caravanning fabric (ideas pleeease!!)

Four family names gifts using scrabble tiles (more about that soon).

IMG_896906

A crocheted Amish puzzle ball.

Five or maybe six lace weight shawls using the ‘Feeling Dottie‘ pattern I used here (I know I’m mad but what do you do when someone asks if you can make one for her and her three girls for Christmas, plus one for Abi and also for another neice IF I get time!  Number one nearly finished, below 🙂

IMG_896502

A felted picture,

Five ‘Turban towels’, these just need the other side of the binding hand sewn on, more time consuming I know but so much neater.

IMG_897209

A set of patchwork placemats to match the Christmas bunting I made my Mother-in-law last year.

Two embroidered cushion covers and a laptop sleeve for my Mum and

Abi and Josh’s stocking gifts for October, November and December’s Monthly Challenge, you can read more about it here!  I have ideas but it will time that is against me here.

I think that is most of my ‘ Christmas gifts to make list’, just a few more little gifts to make if I get the time!!

So for the next couple of months my main focus will be Christmas gifts with hopefully a bit of wips finishing.

There are the socks, yes THE socks, you can read more at the end of this post, just a peep for today

IMG_896603

but yes I am enjoying it and I am on sock number two, yay!!  Of course Abi has fallen in love with them but I have made them to fit my little feet not her size seven canoes so it won’t be the last pair of socks I knit! Then of course, if I make some for Abi did I ought to make some for Josh?  Mmmm, maybe!

I have a beret for Abi half made, the same as the one I made here.

IMG_897108

I have started some needle felting for a special project, again more about this soon.

Other things will have to wait until the New Year.

I have some fabric dyed with some flower petals and I need to make something with that.  More on this at some point.

IMG_896704

There is my tarn

IMG_885002

and scrap yarn, crying out to be used.

SAM_073804

I also have the yarn for a crochet jumper I would like to start in the new year.

Oh, yes, I would like to try fairisle knitting in the next few weeks too!

I have my owl and flower granny square cushions to finish to match the blanket.  I just need to do the backs which is rather boring so they have got tucked away!!

I would like to crochet some slippers for myself, I have some cosy bases to use.

I have my knitted shawl to get on with using the ‘so I gather’ pattern

IMG_896805

And my hexies to continue with.

IMG_897007

There are other projects in the back of my mind for the New Year also but for now I think this list is plenty long enough!!

Looking back this list looks a little daunting!!  I know I have a lot to achieve before Christmas and as I type now apparently there are 77 days, 11 hours and 53 minutes until Christmas 🙂

Writing it all down here has really helped me to get’to do’s’ the clear in my head. I think I shall be returning rather often to this post to checkout my progress!

Have you made a start on your Christmas gifts yet?  I am looking forward to seeing all the lovely things you make.

Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

43 thoughts on “Winter Projects and Wips (LOTS of…)!!!

  1. Oh my goodness, you mad woman you! How on earth are you going to do all that? You are going to be my inspiration and I shall try to keep up with you. I’ve done six out of the seven lace scarves, the teepee, about 75% of the book of crocheted dolls….and that’s it I think. Crocheted’Vans’ slippers are next, for the teenagers:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Sharon, thank you for joining in! You have a lot of great projects on the go and I’m looking forward to watching your progress. If you haven’t already done so, please add your post to my link party so that others can stop by and cheer you on! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My head is spinning from all those projects! You are most definitely not a monogamous project maker 🙂 Good luck, I hope you manage to make them all by Christmas (and please do refrain from scaring me to death with a countdown)… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mine too!! I love having lots of projects on the go, there is always one to suit my mood or level of concentration!! I freaked a bit too when I saw how many (or few) days are left!! I shall plod on through what doesn’t get done will just have to be late (I did warn my cousin when she asked for rather time consuming shawls for 4 of them!!) x

      Liked by 1 person

          1. I don’t know if this conversation did something to me psychologically, but I bought some lace weight yarn today and might be casting on a shawl soon 😳 Good luck on those emeralds! 😁

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! I worry if I have more than three projects on the go. I think you’re going to be very busy in the run up to Christmas. I’m joining in with Jennifer’s link party too, I think it’s a great way to keep us all motivated.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That is a huge list! It’s also so varied which is why i love your blog. You know what though, if it was anyone else i’d think they were crazy butni’m really.confident you will.finish your list!

    Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

