November Challenge – Keeping Clean, Warm and Tidy!

The weeks are flying by and here we are at the end of November with less than a month until Christmas!  The challenge I set myself to make at least one home/’me’ item and one stocking present each for Abi and Josh every month in 2015 is nearly over!

There was one thing that Abi requested that I hadn’t yet got to and that was a frilly apron!  I received one last Christmas which she fell in love with, so I decided to sew something similar.  My one was rather small, even on me, so I had to alter the pattern quite a bit and here it is!

IMG_971201

(Photos courtesy of Josh, the apron is on me so the top is a little baggy, Abz is much taller than me).

IMG_971931

I am happy with the way it turned out, just a couple of tweaks needed.  I have scribbled it all down somewhere and will try to get the pattern posted sometime when I have had a chance to test it properly!

For Josh this month it’s a new scarf.  I wanted something not too boring but not girly either so I just made it up as I went along.  There are three rows of twisted trebles in the middle creating lots of mini cable style stitches.

IMG_013103

I worked along the length and then added rib along the short edges at the end as a boyish alternative to a fringe 🙂

 

It looks rather washed out here, every time I zoomed the colour disappeared but you can see the pattern a bit better.

Again I was really pleased with this scarf and will try to write down and road test the pattern before blogging, probably in the new year.

Now the  home/’me’ item this month was a bag for me.  For a long time I have loved the Japanese knot bags but all the patterns I could see were for flat bags with a boxed out bottom.  I feel that they really lend themselves to being a circular based bag so taking a deep breath and remembering my resolve to be more creative I drafted my own pattern. I made four while I was at it.  Two for my Stitching Secret Santa’s (more about that soon), one for a friend and one for me.

IMG_013401

If you are not familiar with Japanese knot bags they have one short and one long handle.  The long handle tucks through the short handle closing the bag.

IMG_013703

 

Again I am pleased with this, in fact I love it and right now I am using it as a project bag for my second pair of socks 🙂

I have plans for Decembers makes and I shall be trying to squeeze them in between all the Christmas preparations.

I hope you all have a great week and Happy Crafting!!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

 

17 thoughts on “November Challenge – Keeping Clean, Warm and Tidy!

  1. I love your resolve and how you have managed to stick to your challenges all year long – you’re an inspiration and will keep me going on with mine! I love the Japanese knot bags, too, and the fabric you have used is perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The apron is very pretty. Another thing on my wish list has been some new aprons for my kitchen. How do you manage to come up with all of these things on your blog as if you have been reading my list? 😉 You have succeeded in giving Josh’s scarf a masculine style. You mentioned “twisted trebles”. I have never heard of that term before. Would you please explain that stitch? Perhaps it is something familiar with a new name or maybe you can teach me a new stitch. The scarf looks great with its chunky stitch patterns. I am sure Josh will love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jodie, they say great minds think alike!! Twisted trebles is just what I called them, I have done crochet cables once before but I was feeling too lazy to look it up and do it properly so I made it up as I went along. I missed a stitch, treble in the next, then go back and treble into the back of the missed stitch and repeated all along the row. Next row I did the same but as back post trebles and the follwing row the same but as front post trebles! I was pleased with how it turned out. Have a great weekend. x

      Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

