Winter Wips – Feeling Relaxed!

I’m feeling very relaxed about my wips and with less than three weeks to go until Christmas I am not too sure if that is a good thing or not!

Life has been going on much as normal here, Josh is in full creative swing, whether it’s fiddling with and trying to make his scooter go faster, taking apart his remote control car or making fireworks!  Yes, the days of cereal box models are long gone!

The fireworks experiment was rather amusing.  Josh asked for a sparkler as he wanted to make a firework. (what is it with men and boys and the love of fire?) He then proceeded to make a rocket with a cardboard tube very nicely decorated and then taped cap reels from a broken cap gun to it and also the sparkler.  I made him wait until Hubby came home and they then went outside to light the firework.

IMG_009801

Josh couldn’t get it to light so Hubby had a turn, not knowing that the caps were there.  Hubby is a very jumpy person at the best of times so it was just hilarious when every time he tried to light it a cap went off!  Not quite the rocket launch Josh had planned but a great laugh for us 🙂

Abi is loving her work in the dementia care home, challenging, incredibly busy but very rewarding. I knew that Dementia was a very sad disease as my Grandma suffered with it but how it affects some is just dreadful.  Little old ladies once very dignified stripping off in the lounge, others, once delightful gentle people turning very abusive and violent. Then there are those who get no visitors because the relative just cannot bear to see the change in them.  She loves being able to brighten their day a little in a spare moment, being quite happy to dance round the lounge with them (they respond so well to music) or even dance with the zimmer frame, having them all in stitches, She is so bubbly and full of life and it is lovely to think of her bringing some love and cheer into their lives.

Hubby has been busy building a ‘dresser’.  He managed to get hold of some kitchen units free, it is looking good so far but we are just buying the doors as we can afford it so I will show you a photo once it is complete.

Well I really have waffled on but it has been a while since I have done a ‘chatty’ post so I hope you don’t mind, now down to my creative bit!

The gifts to make list is getting shorter, hmm, I’ve just counted, ‘only’ ten more to go!  I decided back in October that I would enjoy each make, create it with love and not worry about what else needs to be done and I am determined to keep it that way, (hopefully)!

So, what is now finished?  My mice, ooh, I am going to admit that I love these so much, even if it does make me sound boastful, I am really tempted to make myself one 🙂

IMG_917219

I have used my scrabble tiles to make framed family name ‘crosswords’. (Surnames blanked out)

I have finished the ‘feeling dotty’ shawls two,three and four

and made another for Mum using the same pattern but as a long scarf.

IMG_015113

I have made a little sock doll as an extra and just need to make a little sleeping bag for her and then I will show you.

My cousin had a little baby so out came Edward’s Menagerie and I made another Emma Bunny, these patterns are just adorable.

IMG_014912

For Abi and Josh’s stockings I made a scarf for Josh and a ‘frilly’apron as requested for Abi.

There were a couple of extra makes for Josh’s birthday, a stitched ferrari and a ‘steam punk’ style ferrari made using bits from his Grandad’s watch parts

and of course a cake and gateaux.

Oh yes, there was my Christmas card too!  If you missed the post, I needle felted a winter woodland scene and then photographed it to have it made into a card.

final christmas card image01

I also made project bags for my Stitching Santa’s and another for myself and a friend.

 

A pretty peg bag for Mum’s birthday

and a wheat sack for a niece.

 

I think that’s about it for this month, so I’m off to do some patchwork now!  Have a great week and Happy Crafting!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

 

25 thoughts on “Winter Wips – Feeling Relaxed!

  1. What a wonderful selection of pressies, we can so easily slip into the rush rush mode so it was good to read that you are determined to enjoy the process. Loved hearing about Abi working so well with dementia patients – such an awful disease.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. That is sad, Sharon. My Mother passed away very suddenly and unexpectedly. It’s so hard to go through losing a parent. That indeed is a special gift. My thoughts and prayers go out to your family.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Bless Abi for taking care of the folks with dementia – such a dreadful thing and so HARD to deal with, not everyone can do it. I adore all your makes – those mice are too cute for words, I love the shawls, and that pin bag for your mum, wow! You are multi-talented, Sharon, you make gorgeous things!!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You deserve to feel relaxed – you’ve worked so steadily on all your makes – I’ve been a last-minute-Larry about everything as ever, but I’ve only got a sweater, a fairisle beret and a quick pair or two of slippers to do, and a pair of socks to finish. Just about do-able I think…

    Liked by 2 people

  4. It takes a special person to understand dementia sufferers and Abi sounds like she is one of them – I love the thought of her dancing with a zimmer frame! I’ve made sure to enjoy the process of making gifts, too, otherwise there’s no point. I’ve not made as much as you though – wow!

    Liked by 2 people

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

