Monthly Challenge. Old Goals – New Goals!

Well, it’s been a slow start to the year really with a little creativity in between a lot of tidying, finding homes for gifts, moving things around and into the new dresser Hubby is making and generally getting things in order but I have finally made time for my last monthly challenge reveal of 2015!

So, about my makes for the December challenge, I did it, just!!!  (Well sort of, more about that in a minute).  Doesn’t December already seem ages ago and I can’t believe that it was a year ago that Jennifer asked if anyone wanted to join her with a monthly make challenge!  As most of you will know I challenged myself to one make for Abi and Josh each month and also a ‘Me’/home make each month in 2015.

For my December makes I crocheted a lace shawl for Abi.  I used a different pattern to the other lace shawls. I had made six using the ‘feeling dotty‘ pattern and because I had made one of those for myself and one for my Mum, Abi wanted hers to be different!  To be honest, after making 6 dotty shawls it was a nice change to use a different pattern.  She chose the Elise Shawl from Ravelry. This was similar to the feeling dotty shawl but with only a two row repeat rather than three. It was quick and easy to make and the diagram was really helpful.  I added extra picots on the edge and she loves it.  (Her boyfriend calls it her spiders web, I take that as a complement to the delicate crochet!!) Here she is with it on Christmas morning!

IMG_1151002

Then I knit my second pair of socks, this time for Josh. I had wanted to do a patterned  sock this time, I wanted something ‘manyly’ and midnight knitter suggested the Basic Ribbed sock pattern which I loved but then I realised that I would have to do a lot of resizing so I went with the Petty Harbour pattern.  I enjoyed working the pattern but with such a patterned yarn I think I would have been better with a plain sock or else plain yarn and patterned sock.

IMG_1233001

They weren’t quite ready for Christmas but I just got them finished them on New Year’s eve….only to find that I hadn’t made the foot long enough grrr.  Ripping back was easier than I thought and I was so glad that I had worked top down!

So Josh finally got his socks New Years day and he loves them, in fact he put them on before I could get a photo and wore them for two days and two nights before I insisted they must be washed and managed to get a photo and here they are.

Finally for myself I made some stitch markers, I used lobster clasps so that I can use them for crochet as well as knitting.  At the moment they are on a ring in my project bag I made last month.

IMG_1270002

You can read my other Monthly Challenge posts throughout 2015 here.

January, February, March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November.

It’s great to look back but also to look forward and ponder new goals for 2016.

I have been thinking that this year there needs to be a lot of stash busting.  There are no shopping bans planned but I do hope to keep buying to a minimum.

I would love to do quite a bit of up-cycling too.  During last year when we sorted out clothes I kept a lot of t-shirts for tarn and other clothes to be re-purposed. Hmm, not a lot of room in our loft right now but hopefully that will change as I always enjoy taking something unwanted and making it into something new and I’m looking forward to doing quite a bit of re-purposing.

So, what about a new Monthly Challenge?

I will not be doing the stocking present challenge again although I do hope to still make bits throughout the year for the children for next Christmas.  Abi was rather disappointed when I told her but I find it a real struggle to find ideas to make for Josh.

I have been thinking a lot about a challenge for 2016 and I have decided that I would love to create a pattern of my own each month, they will most likely be crochet patterns, in fact I am working on one now but more about that soon.  I know that some of you create patterns, where do you put them?  Do you just blog them or do you use Ravelry or something else?  I would love to use Ravelry more but I haven’t really got my head around how it works other than to get patterns from it!  Also ‘creativity and family is too long for Ravelry so I need to think of another name. I would have preferred to use the same name in each place.  I am also considering using Instagram. Do you use it and if you do, how do get on with it?

I would also like to make some more project bags and of course continue in my goal to be more creative.

I have some dyed fabric to use, I have lots of tarn and t-shirts to turn into tarn for some chair pads or maybe even a rug!

SAM_133309

Then there is the crocheted patchwork blanket

SAM_131912

and Josh’s blanket to get on with

and lots of scraps waiting to become hexies and eventually patchwork blankets!  Not to mention my rather large stash of both fabric and yarn. (it is stacked two deep!)

SAM_132101

I also received a yarn dyeing kit for Christmas from Hubby’s parents and I have just started exploring that!  I am having such fun and will be sharing more soon.

Well, I won’t have any excuse for being bored in 2016, that’s for sure!  How about you, do you have things that you would like to finish or start in 2016?  Also any pattern publishing ideas would be great.

Happy Crafting!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

25 thoughts on “Monthly Challenge. Old Goals – New Goals!

  1. Well done for sticking to your challenges in 2015 Sharon. The socks made a great last make. Lots of projects, fabrics and tarn to keep you busy this year. I am on Instagram and enjoy seeing work in progress pics although there are far too many cat and dog pictures for my liking! I am still finding my way around it though and as I have been on facebook for some years and am still finding my way around I am not expecting to master Instagram any time soon! Looking forward to following your projects in 2016. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Lin. That’s really interesting. You’re not the only person who has had a job mastering it and I’m not sure how well I would get on. At the moment I just have my blog and pinterest. If I do go with Instagram I’m hoping Abi can help me find my way! xx

      Like

  2. I really enjoy looking at your fabric stash! So pretty. I am not a fabric person, but I will ALWAYS love the potential in the stacks of beautiful fabric. Also, GREAT SOCKS! Nice job!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, I really need to use some, or rather a lot, of the fabric but I’ve just been given some more! not that I’m complaining, I just can’t have fabric thrown away there i s to much potential in it and if I don’t use it’s certainly lovely to look at 🙂

      Like

  3. PHEW! That’s a lot in one post. Well done on your 2015 challenges – love Abi’s scarf. I can’t particularly get into the ravelry chatter, although I’ve tried. Ditto instagram, but there’s a few people giving that a go just now, so I’m going to try that again. What about changing your blog name if you want something shorter and them all the same? You can still keep the same domain. Look forward to seeing more of your wonderful creativity in 2016 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a bit of a mammoth one, hope I didn’t bore you too much!! I’m thinking instagram might be a good place to pop the odd progress picture etc, the in between bits. I have thought about changing my name but it’s not easy finding one that’s not already taken! I’m with WordPress, who are you with? How easy did you find it to change your name? Do you lose a lot of followers when you change or do they switch with you? A mammoth reply now 😉 sorry for all the q’s x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, not too much. It’s more boring when people fit just one topic into that many words. Appreciate difficult to find names. I was surprised Dartmoor Yarns wasn’t taken. I’m wordpress too. Really easy to swap, but I was swapping between paid for domains not free. Is yours free or paid for? I didn’t loose any followers and the search engines somehow how reconnect the old posts with the new name and change them. Don’t apologise for the questions, always good to help if I can xx

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Your socks are lovely Sharon. I can’t believe you had the courage to rip them back, I’m not sure I could do that. Your patchwork squares always stand out as something I have never seen done before and I can’t wait to see how they progress in 2016. As for your fabric stash… so pretty and inspiring. I would just stare at that all day long and never get anything made!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I really wasn’t sure how it would go but I just chopped the end off and started to unravel! Thankfully the stitches were easy to pick back up!
      I’ve made three of the ‘patches’ now. I really need to get back into it but there is always something more exciting to be doing! I’m sure once I pick it up again I shall enjoy it. The trouble is the things for me tend to go to the bottom of the pile!
      Fabric does that doesn’t it, I’m awful if I go in the local fabric shop! x

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I am so impressed that you met the challenge, I’ve really enjoyed your updates throughout the year. Somehow, making your challenge public helps to spur you on, doesn’t it? I’ve just joined Instagram but haven’t used it long enough to know how I feel about it yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I like Instagram a lot but haven’t worked myself up to chatting much on there. I use it for more immediate picture gratification! I’m signed up to Ravelry but haven’t utilised it as much as I should. I usually forget to put a finished project on there. I don’t think it is very user friendly. But you can sell your patterns on there should you wish to. I have a free pattern on there as well, which links back to my blog for people to download there. I get quite a lot of hits from that pattern, more than anything else I’ve done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, that’s really helpful. I had Instagram in mind for a quick photo updates with a caption in between blog posts. I agree with Ravelry not being very user friendly, I just can’t seem to get into it. With my goal of one pattern a month I am hoping to share my patterns somewhere other than my blog so I shall have to do a bit more investigating on that one, Ravelry is certainly an option. Thanks for all your tips. x

      Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

