Playing with Colour

Well, I have mentioned that I had been dyeing a lot lately and I have had such fun over the past few weeks!  I have done a fair bit of fabric dyeing over the years and it is great fun, my favourite being rust dyeing  (I have a gorgeous rust dyed pillowcase that I need to make something with) but dying yarn has to be my absolute favourite.  The colours and shades that you can create with even just the primary colours and black are beautiful.

Here are a few pics of what I have been dyeing lately.

This sock blank gave a beautiful yarn, where the stitches prevented some of it from being dyed you get hints of white. I probably won’t be using blanks again in a hurry though as they are twice the price of skeined yarn!

I have made several mini skeins playing around with tonal, hand painted and kettle dyed colourways.

I have also dyed several hanks of sock and dk yarn.  I have been using photos from my blog and items around the home for inspiration.

I have a couple of pattern in mind for this month and I think I will use one of these skeins for them!

I hope you are having a good week, Happy Crafting!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

16 thoughts on “Playing with Colour

  1. What lovely colour combos! Well done 🙂 Have you ever thought about using one of those little round machine knitting things to make your own blanks? That way you’d still get the sock blank effect for a fraction of the price…

    Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

