Enjoying the Hols and a Calmer Sea!

We are halfway through the half-term holiday already!  It has been a lovely week so far. Lots of chilling out, a bit of creativity and a trip to the sea.

It started as a trip to Eastbourne to try to find some glasses that Josh would like enough to wear, yes, at 11 years old he is starting to get incredibly fussy, I think having an older Sister doesn’t help!

After that ordeal we headed for the ‘old fashioned sweet shop’ where out of all these gorgeous colours

Abi and Josh bought themselves some candy floss.

IMG_1513

Having said that, I did snaffle a little bit 🙂

After getting a couple of other bits we needed we headed for the beach, this time was quite a contrast to the storms of the previous week.

IMG_1673

We sat for a while then Abi and Josh headed down to the sand and enjoyed themselves there

while I took rather a lot of photos!

Oh and I couldn’t leave out these Gull footprints!!

IMG_1585

As we headed home Abi decided to take a detour and go up and over Beachy Head and then on to Birling Gap.  We saw the old Bell Tout lighthouse

IMG_1632

that is once again precariously near the cliff edge after having been moved back some years ago.

We passed some horses grazing on the cliff top

IMG_1640

and then reached Birling Gap where we stopped again and Abi and Josh went down to the beach below while I again too photos.  There we could see the ‘seven sisters’ to the right

IMG_1649

and to the left the old coastguard Cottages that are gradually disappearing into the sea.

IMG_1662

 

If you look at this link you can see when nearly two years ago they had to demolish some of the cottages and to the bottom right of the picture below you can see the remains of these cottages.

IMG_1665

The colours were amazing, I love the blues,greys, greens and browns of these photos.

IMG_1678

After some time we had to head back home back looking back over the town as we descended.

IMG_1680

I love simple unexpected trips like this, it was a day to treasure up in my memory.

Are there simple things that give you a lot of pleasure?

I hope you all enjoy the rest of the week and Happy Crafting!

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

 

 

15 thoughts on “Enjoying the Hols and a Calmer Sea!

  1. Oh how beautiful!!!! I love your pics. I wouldn’t walk too close to those cliffs though, on top or below, lol….that’s scary. It happens here too along the coast. We call that cotton candy here, yum yum!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m like you in that I also enjoy simple trips and one doesn’t need to travel far from home to find beauty and wonder. Placing the photographs into an historical context helps me to appreciate your photos even more. They are a great illustration of nature’s ferocity. Awesome. Thank you for taking us on the trip with you. xx

    Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

