Vintage Embroidery

I hope you all had a lovely weekend and if you have children in the UK, a great half-term holiday.  I have some bits to share with you about that later in the week but for now I just have a few photos to share of some embroidery that my Grandma did.

IMG_1348008

I love this tablecloth and I can picture it now on a little tea table in her lounge.

When I asked Mum if I could borrow the tablecloth she also sent round the cloth I had embroidered for Mum and Dad’s 25th wedding anniversary so I thought I would share a couple of pics of that too.

IMG_1353013

Do you have anything special that was made years ago?

I hope you all have a lovely and I hope to be back soon with a general newsy post.

Happy Crafting

Sharon xx

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment.  I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

 

 

28 thoughts on “Vintage Embroidery

  1. Such lovely embroidery – my mother has quite a lot of pieces embroidered by her mother and my father’s mother as well as her own creations. The latest pieces to come to light (some chair back covers) were done when she was still at school and she’s now 82! They have never been used until now and look as good as new! x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That cloth is really beautiful your grandmother was obviously very good at embroidery and so are you.
    I have a couple of pieces of embroidery I did as a child and lots that my mother did (mainly broderie anglaise type) but also what we used as a tea-time cloth when I was a child. Picture at the bottom of this post if you are interested – https://rainbowjunkiecorner.wordpress.com/2015/04/13/my-latest-rainbow-project/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. really very beautiful pieces you have. Love the lady, the baskets with flowers and the letters. My grandma used to embroider beautiful table cloths many years ago. I embroider, too. Once I made a table cloth with little sheep all made by little knots, was really cute. And I just finished an embroidered handbag in vintage design for an old handle I bought on the fleamarket. Good somebody reminds of these lovely old techniques.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Such beautiful embroidery, I especially like the floral initials. I have a lovely table cloth which was embroidered by my Gran (I think). We used it when we had a house party to celebrate her 90th birthday. I always think fondly of her when I get it out of the drawer, she may no longer be with us but her legacy lives on with my love of handicrafts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love the colours and designs. I love looking at vintage embroideries and clothes. My mum and nan knitted but no sewers that I know of. Weird to think our makes may become cherished heirlooms like your nans 😀

    Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

