A Busy Year, News and an Offer!

Hi everyone.  I mentioned at the beginning of the year a couple of goals I had for this year. One of these was to create a pattern each month!

In January I designed a crochet shawl pattern which I am really pleased with.  Actually, I’m not the only one in love with it, so is Abi, she promptly claimed the first one, then loved the colours of the second too and claimed that too so I nabbed back the first although she would have happily kept both!!  Anyway, by the time I had tested the pattern, made alterations etc it was the middle of Feb and then I was so busy with other bits (I’ll tell you about that in a mo) that I have only made a start on my February pattern – another shawl but completely different.

So, what has been keeping me so busy?  I have decided after a lot of thought and prayer to open an Etsy shop, click here.  I don’t have a huge amount of self confidence so it has felt a really massive thing to do.

A name was really tough to come up with but in the end I decided to go with ‘Inspirational Yarns’ as most of the hand dyed yarns are inspired by our family, home etc.  I wonder if you can recognise any?

Here are the hand dyed yarns I have in the shop so far.  – more to list

I have four main bases, Superwash Blue Faced Leicester (British wool) and Nylon in a 4 ply.  Superwash Merino, cashmere and nylon in a 4 ply. Superwash Blue Faced Leicester, silk and cashmere, 4 ply and a Dk Superwash Blue Faced Leicester.

Also in the shop I have some project bags in two styles – both my own design

Japanese knot bags with a circular base

and ‘basket bags’.  I have designed these with an extra wide base and a top that folds down over the outside to create a basket.  Just one size at the moment but more to come when I get time to make them!

Oh yes, look out for the little embroidered mouse somewhere on your bag!

I have my new shawl pattern in there too (and on Ravelry), my ‘Pebbles Asymmetrical Crochet Shawl’ pattern.  here are a few pics

It is a long asymmetrical shawl with a diagonal stripe, which can be worn over the shoulders with the longer side wrapped around and tucked through or more like a conventional scarf.

IMG_2731

and here is the other colourway

I have also made some scripture wall hangings (I’m happy to do custom orders for these).

And that’s it for now.  I have just created a new site for the shop as I don’t really want my blog space to change too much, so although I will sometimes show you what I am making for the shop and let you know when I update most shop news will be on the new blog/site which you can find here.

Oh yes, I nearly forgot, I am now on Instagram too @inspirationalyarns. I am using that both for the shop and general day to day snapshots of life. Please let me know in the comments if you have IG so that I can follow you (that is, if you would like me to follow you of course!!)

Before I go I have a special offer for you all.  A discount code for 15% off of everything in the  shop until 15th March. ‘opening15’ There will be a little surprise gift included in the package for the first three people to order from my shop!

24 thoughts on “A Busy Year, News and an Offer!

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! I am so excited for you!!! Don’t forget about craftsy for the patterns – they charge NO FEES to either you or the buyer. I’ll have to add your etsy to my favorites!!!! I love everything you’re making!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on your new ventures! So much activity – where do you find the time and energy? I am impressed. I have only recently joined IG but I am not a regular user. I use it for WIPs and other subjects that don’t fit into the brief of the Lupey Loops blog. My IG name is jodiebodiecrochets.
    I enjoy designing my own projects and this year I am working on getting the patterns written properly. I already have a couple of patterns that I would love to publish. It is nice to meet other craft bloggers like yourself who also enjoy the design process.
    Your hand dyed yarns have lovely colour combinations and your knot and basket bags are very clever.
    All the best with your Etsy shop – I am sure it will be successful – and when I reinstate my yarn budget, I will come by your shop. (I am currently in stashbusting mode through necessity!).
    Cheers!

    Like

    1. Thanks Jodie, I shall look you out on IG. I intersperse activity with rest, I have a stool on wheels in the kitchen which really helps too. I have to be feeling really rough to sit and do nothing so I’m often crocheting. Some things get left too, not always easy to find a balance as you know!! Yes, I am certainly enjoying the design process! if you come by my shop in the future let me know first and I’ll give you a discount code 😉 take care. X

      Like

  3. Good luck with your new shop. I hope you don’t mind me telling you this.. I read most of the blogs I follow on my mobile phone. I am sorry but yours keeps crashing on it about half way through. I don’t suppose there is much you can do about it, but thought you would like to know. I read as much as I can before it crashes, but that’s why I don’t comment very often.

    Like

    1. Thanks Cathy. Of course I don’t mind you telling me! I’m not sure why that would happen as the layout I’m using is supposed to be mobile friendly, I’ll have to see if anyone else is having a problem. Thanks for that. Have a lovely weekend X

      Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

