Challenges, crochet spinnning knitting designing!

I have quite a bit of creativity to chat about this week.  Wips, to do’s and help me’s!!

Firstly Josh’s blanket (I am keeping this project in the fabric basket I got at Portsmouth in the summer).

IMG_2930

I ripped back the blanket in January and started again with a more mindless pattern so that it could be my ‘no brain power needed’ project but I’m still going so slowly with it!  I think a lot of the problem is Josh!!  Poor Josh, it’s not his fault directly but he is having a real job getting to sleep in the evenings so he is not going to bed so early.  By the time he is asleep (anywhere between 9 and 10)  I am ready to hit the hay myself!

Also, to be completely honest, I am just not enjoying it.  I just have so many ideas for other things and other wips I would rather be doing that I overlook it! I have been mulling it over and decided to challenge myself (appealing to my competitive spirit usually works 😉 ) so, I will aim to work on it either for 15 minutes or work 1 row a day five days a week.  Probably Monday to Friday but if I miss a day I will catch up at the weekend.

While I am challenging myself I may just add 10 minutes of spinning a day to the challenge.

SAM_122021

I have hardly touched my spindle this year and again it’s because I’m not enjoying it.  I just don’t enjoy the colour I am spinning.  Abi loves it though so there will be a use for it so maybe if I aim to spin it for a birthday gift for her (June) I may just have the incentive to get back on my spindle.

I am also thinking that my spindle could do with a case of its own.  Maybe with a separate pocket for the fibre?

Also on my hooks I have another crochet shawl that I am designing. This time I am using the yarn that Abi’s boyfriend gave me for Christmas.  It is a lovely soft cotton, I love working with cotton but the only downside is that it can be rather splitty and this one is very splitty, so much so that if I don’t keep on top of sewing the ends in I end up with tassels!

IMG_2924

Despite this though I am loving working with the yarn and enjoying how the design is working out.  I am using the gorgeous bag that Jane made that was in my Stitching Santa swap.

I have made some bits and dyed some custom yarn for a yarn swap I have entered that Mina of the Knitting Expat Podcast is hosting but I won’t show them yet as I have told my swap partner about my blog!  I love the yarn colourway that I design for the swap and shall show you all the bits once my partner has received them 🙂  Oh yes, and while I’m on the subject of dyeing…

I’ve been thinking that the lilies Abi gave me for my birthday would make a great natural dye, so I may be trying that one out next week!

I have also made a couple of project bags and done some more dyeing so there are a few more bits in the shop.

The socks I am knitting for Abi are also only coming along slowly, this time it’s the doctors fault!!! 😉  I am keeping them for knitting when I wait for appointments as they are so portable, (especially as I keep them in my Japanese knot bag which hangs perfectly on my arm as I knit).

Anyhow, the reason it is the doctor’s fault is that she has been on time lately!  I always have to wait ages at the doctors and suddenly she decides to be on time! – I mean, it’s wonderful that she’s on time but what about my knitting?  I shall just have to start arriving extra early.

I did decide to buy extra ‘Big Softie’ yarn with my birthday money, lots of!!

IMG_2928

Hopefully enough to make a lovely oversized sweater. I am thinking of doing my own design so it will be interesting to see how that goes!  I’m not too sure how easy it will be to frog as it’s a singles, I think there will have to be lots of planning and drawing first!

Now to my knitting dilemma.  I am wanting to knit a shawl.  I have some  yarn that I dyed that I would love to use.

And maybe this one to twin with it!

But I just can’t decide on a pattern.  I have a couple I have downloaded, the latest being Mina’s brioche shawl.  I love this design but I am really not sure if my knitting is up to two colour brioche.  So if any of you have tried it I would love to know how easy it is? I have watched Mina’s tutorial which is really clear and helpful and has given me a bit more confidence but I’m still wavering!

Also do you have any other knitted shawl patterns to recommend?  I will be using 4 ply, each hank being 400m and I would like to use one or two colours and also try something new, like the brioche or maybe some simple lace?

I’m not sure why I haven’t started a pattern yet as I’ve been wanting to do this since the end of last year.  I’m sure if I was looking at crocheting a shawl I would have started it by now, maybe it’s just my lack of confidence in knitting that is putting me off!

So with that lot on the go I think it’s time I sat myself down in the sun and got on with it, yes we actually have some sun today, enough for Abi and her cousin to try out sunbathing in the garden, I’m not too sure how long it will last!

I hope you all have a creative and lovely weekend.

Sharon xx

11 thoughts on “Challenges, crochet spinnning knitting designing!

  1. Hi Sharon,
    Lovely to read about all your recent projects and activities. How ironic that Josh is indirectly impeding the completion of his own blanket. My son was never a good sleeper so I can totally relate to feeling exhausted after putting youngsters to bed. You wouldn’t think it is such a tiring thing but repeatedly getting up and down and being interrupted…it’s not the most conducive for relaxation and focus.
    I had been wondering where you were lately because I hadn’t seen any posts from you for a couple of months but today I discovered that you were here all the time and my blogreader was at fault. Please excuse me for being ‘out of the loop’ while I catch up on your older posts.
    You did the right thing to rip back the blanket. If it isn’t stimulating or satisfying you, it isn’t going to get finished easily. I hope the new pattern choice fits your current mindset better. If you have a stream of creative ideas, harvest them while you can!
    I can relate to your indecision over a shawl pattern. I am also battling indecision over two WIPs that are at a standstill because I can’t decide on the next phase of the pattern design!
    With luck, we will have decided by our next blog posts.
    Have fun
    Jodie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Josh is an absolute master at delaying tactics too before he even gets there, then he just can’t seem to switch off, sometimes the only way is to lay down next to him and keep encouraging him to lie still and stop asking random questions! I’m glad you ‘ found ‘ me again 😊 I hope you soon get your design dilemma sorted! I shall look forward to seeing the results 😃x

      Like

  2. Can’t help you with your knitting dilemmas I’m afraid but the yarn is beautiful.
    I think your issue with your Doc being on time is a universal one with appointments – when we are happy to wait with a good book or craft we never have the opportunity but woe betide you if you forget your’distraction’!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the colours of your yarns and especially the colour of the spinning that you don’t like – it is gorgeous! I do hope you finish it and make something lovely for Abi. Lots of nice things to look at Sharon – thank you. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Got to love your train of thought about turning up early at the doctor’s so you’ve got more time to knit! I reckon get the lilies would make great dye as it stains anything it touches:)

    Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

