Creative Drought!!

My creature time seems to have disappeared! I do spend half a day a week or so creating for my shop but last year I spent hours and hours creating!  Last week there was a custom order for some of my Scripture Yarn for a community project which was great fun!  Excuse the dodgy pics, Abi has the camera atm.

image

Would you be more likely to buy the yarn before re-skeining (top) or after (bottom) ? 
Abi doing shift work has probably made the biggest difference to my creative time as she often has a couple of days off during the week but it’s a good exchange, it’s so special being able to spend so much time with her even though she’s in full time work and has a boyfriend! 

image

A pic she sent through when they arrived! 

They’ve gone down to Cornwall for a couple of weeks so I planned a lot of creativity for this week but Josh decided it was his turn for some Mum time and is off school with earache and dizzyness! 

image

So the creativity has been more a case of bringing the outdoors inside!  He’s created a live small animal basket trap out of sticks! I’m not too sure what he hopes to catch but we’ll see, it kept him occupied for a while anyway! 
And this is what happens when he flies hus drone too close to me!!

image

I did manage a couple of rows on my ‘ waiting room ‘ socks but they just don’t keep me waiting long enough to get much done!

image

My shawls hang over the side of my knitting /crocheting chair and are in and my shoulders day after day.  They’re so easy just to sling over my shoulders when I feel chilly:D.

image

It’s Abi’s birthday on Wednesday so we had a birthday gateau on Friday evening before she went away. I didn’t even get to make her a gift this year but I did find time to draw her a card, I’ll try to get a photo for next time!

I’ve started reading more again too although a lot of the ebooks have an audio option now so I’ve tended to listen while I get my jobs done! 

Before I go take a look at this,  Father-in-law saw it in a museum recently,  can you read it?

image

H4V3 4 CR3471V3 W33K!!

SH4R0N!! xx

20 thoughts on “Creative Drought!!

  1. I finally finished a pair of socks last night – they only need the toes grafting so not sure why they have been waiting so long! Time flies. As long as you are enjoying your family you obviously don’t need to create! And yes, I could read it. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I prefer the top skein but does the bottom one give a clearer idea of how it would look once knitted up? Sometimes they knit up vastly different to how you imagine which can be annoying. lovely pic of Cornwall – just look at the colour of the sea!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think Josh is going to be the new Ray Mears – or Bear Grylls – with his animal traps and fire lighting! You’ll need to wear a crash helmet when he’s flying his drone in future!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tell me about it!! He gets most of his ideas from them and then looks for tutorials on YouTube! Why doesn’t he chose something a little more sedate like crochet!! πŸ˜‰ I’m just dreading the day he manages to catch next doors cats, I can’t imagine the neighbour being very pleased 😟

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi, Sharon! About your yarn: before reskeining seems better to me in this case, because the repetitions are quite small and it’s easier to see what colours you have in the first example. My opinion, anyway! Hope that helps πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Sharon,
    I am not sure about the skeins. I can see how the second one could be most useful but I am more likely to purchase the first one where I can see ‘clumps’ of colour and get a good idea of the individual colours in the design. It is easier to match the yarn colours with other elements of my project if necessary when there are larger patches of colour.
    How do you re-skein a hank? I know how to make centre-pull balls but not how to create those longer shaped skeins.
    I hope you can find some more crafting time soon!
    Cheers,
    Jodie

    Like

    1. Hi Jodie, I’m with you there! Hubby made me an amiss style yarn swift some time ago and I have another umbrella style one, so I put the yarn on one and wind it to the other. It’s also so much easier to ball the yarn from a skein using a swift! Xx

      Like

      1. Winding from swift to swift, that’s an approach I would use too, especially if I had two yarn winding contraptions. Sadly I don’t even have one! I’ve had ‘yarn swift’ on my wish list for a long long time now but they are so expensive. I remember when you blogged about your lovely gadget made by your hubby. You are a lucky lady to have someone so handy in the family. πŸ™‚
        I miss having the energy to follow up jobs like these – sometimes these things are not too complicated but just need resources to be able to make them ourselves. I suppose that is the ‘Maker’ attitude coming out in me!

        Like

        1. Yes, it’s great having a handy Hubby! My second swift is a cheap umbrella style one, I paid Β£7.99 for mine but they have gone up to about Β£12.99. It needs to be handled with respect as it’s a bit flimsy but it does what I need it to πŸ˜ƒ

          Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

