Knitting and news! 

First a quick knitting update. The Karise shawl is coming along slowly but surely. I’ve now got to the lace part so I can only do it when there’s no-one else about to distract me! Even Tilly seems to do her fair share of distracting! I’m using my Valley Hues colourway. 


I also have plans for a find your fade shawl. All the gorgeous colour combos floating about social media have just been too inspiring. So the dye pots have been out and there’s been lots of color play today! 


Thanks to all of you who have been so kindly asking about Abi. She is finally back to her old self after over four months  being ill. She just couldn’t shake her last sore throat. It would get a little better, then she’d have a busy day at work and it would come back with a vengeance. So I decided to get some Manuka honey. I chose an 18+ which was less than half price at £23.99 down from £50 for a 500g jar! But it did the trick, within twelve hours (3 teaspoons a day) it was nearly gone and in another twenty four hours it was completely clear. She left it off after a couple more days but it started to come back so another few days of the honey and it did the trick! 

For those of you that may not be familiar with Manuka honey, it’s honey made from the pollen of the Manuka bush in New Zealand and it has unique healing properties. It’s now used a lot in dressings for infected wounds, leg ulcers etc. I used to use a Manuka honey cream for josh’s eczema and where steroid creams had failed the Manuka cream healed it in days. 

So now for the news, it’s Abi’s news actually. She’s just started a three month trial as the activities coordinator at work. She’s on a three month trial as they still have concerns about her health but if she doesn’t slip back healthwise then the job should be hers. 

She had been doing a few shifts when she was phasing back into work but then the activities girl got the sack, which was tough for her but she did very little with the old folks and she had been warned. So that made an opening for Abi. She’s bursting with ideas and loving every minute of it! 

I’ve finally had the destash I’d been taking about for months and sent her to work with two sacks of fabric and yarn and a bag and box of papercraft and card making bits! 

I’m sorry this is a bit of a photo scarce post but i just keep forgetting to take pics😬. So I’ll leave you with a picture of this great birthday card I had.


Well, I hope you all have a lovely and creative weekend! 

Sharon xx

13 thoughts on “Knitting and news! 

  1. Good for Abi — I hope the three month trial is a huge success and the job is hers permanently. I’ve often heard about the supposed benefits of Manuka honey, but the price has always put me off. Definitely one to try after hearing about your experiences with it, especially the eczema as my daughter suffers quite badly.

    Liked by 1 person

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

