Am I Crazy? 

Right now I’m sitting here with my crochet and Tilly on my lap and a porta potty that has been delivered sitting on the lounge floor debating my sanity! Why? We have bought a tent and hope to start camping. 

Maybe that doesn’t sound too crazy to you but some of you will know that I have systemic lupus and fibromyalgia among other chronic illnesses,which between them, considerably restrict my mobility. I also have raynauds and poor circulation, so I really feel the cold. Now are you starting see the craziness? 

For the last couple of years we haven’t been able to afford a holiday away and Hubby and Josh have wanted to camp for a while but I’ve always thrown a damper on the idea saying I just couldn’t do it. Finally in February I caved and agreed that if they did all the work, I  had a comfortable bed off the floor, a comfy chair and a heater I’d do it. Well Hubs has gone one better and bought me a camping electric blanket. (We’re not so serious about camping as to not have electricity and besides I need to charge my mobility scooter :D). So, anyway, we took the plunge, borrowed some money and have got a really good tent that we’re hoping will last us through Josh’s ten years

I don’t know what you think when you think of camping negatives but to me, apart from lack of comfort and being cold, it’s scrabbling around crouched over in the tent, all cramped up and on top of one another. With Hubs being over six foot tall and not liking being crowded I really did start to feel slightly (or totally) crazy. 

Oh yes, another problem would be putting it up as Abi being older won’t always be with us and me trying to help with my stick in one hand and rubbish balance would have been, well, let’s say, very amusing for the other campers! 

But… when we started looking, it’s just incredible what you can buy.  So we purchased a nine man inflatable display tent. Inflatable!!! Ok, so I’m wondering how many of you are thinking bouncy castle right now 😉

What it is, instead of having poles you have inflatable tubes, about six inch diameter which blow up rigid like a bike tyre. So to erect the tent you just peg out the base and inflate the six tubes then peg out the guy ropes. The man at the shop said Josh would even be able to do it on his own. (Crack open the wine Howard ;-))

We’ve gone big, BIG. Hubs can stand up in it, it has three bedrooms and an extra pod for a fourth although, where they would put two in a room and three in the main bedroom we would only have one in the smaller rooms as it would be rather like playing sardines otherwise!. (Did you ever play that as kids? We loved it.) 

So after all that waffle, what does it  look like? 

Here it is all set up at Camping Works in Horsham. The first window is the awning section, the second and third the living area and the back section without windows, the bedrooms. 

Front view, it looks as though Hubby may just have to duck his head to get in the doorway. 

And two of the three bedrooms across the back of the tent with storage pockets between the rooms.

And looking back from the bedrooms to the entrance.


Yes, it really is a biggy! In fact it has a 4.4 metre by 8 metre footprint. 

So, have we booked anywhere? Yes, and we’re so looking forward to it. We hope to do a trial run in May to Chichester and then two weeks in August to East Runton in Norfolk. And, what is really fun, Howard put out a message on his family What’s app group asking if anyone fancied joining us camping in August not really expecting anyone to come but they’ve all decided to come for at least a couple of days. One of his sister’s is borrowing her in-laws caravan and coming for the two weeks, his brother, camping for a week (three little kids and no electric, proper camping!) and his other sister for four days and his parents have booked a b and b for two days. We should all be together for those two days except Abi and Paul as they’ll have to be back before the last of them arrive. And get this… We are all within four pitches of each other. I’m thinking there will be a lot of laughter as time with Hubby’ s family is always such fun. 

Now, I was also going to talk about what project I have planned for the May break but I’ve waffled for way too long so I’ll be back soon to chat about that. I’ll just say that it involved lots of dyeing experimentation. 

Have an amazing and creative week friends, 

Sharon xx

19 thoughts on “Am I Crazy? 

  1. We still love camping, although I have to say a luxury b&b is preferable nowadays! To see The Boys have fun the way we used to as kids makes the initial effort more than worthwhile. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As someone who has camped in the Amboseli game park in Kenya I ought to be an enthusiastic camper but, it was a one off and a long time ago! I like my home comforts too much. However, good for you for giving it a go and I hope that you have a wonderful time. I must admit the electric blanket sounds right up my street! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow Sharon, that is quite a tent! I rather like camping – if the weather is reasonable – and the inflatable poles sound a lot easier than the old-fashioned sort. I’m in Chichester so if you need any luxuries delivered you can always let me know! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, Sharon! That’s amazing!

    I never thought lupus and camping could be easy bedfellows but with a tent like that… Well done! It goes to show that where there’s a will, there’s a way. I’m feeling very excited for you. I used to love travel, seeing new places and the outdoors. Nowadays it is not as easy but your post has shown that there are ways to achieve things if you really really want to. All you need to do now, is feel comfy in sitting back while the boys do all the physical work.

    It is so lovely that they went to the trouble of doing the research to find a solution for you. I can’t want to find out how you go. Remember to take the insect repellent (you don’t need Lyme on top of lupus). Happy Summer Holidays.

    (I want to get up and do a happy dance for you – so excited for you!) Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for such a lovely comment Jodie! I’m starting to get excited about it myself now 😀. The tent is so luxurious that I’m really hoping it will be ok. As you say, They’ve tried so hard that I’m now determined to make it work! 😉xx

      Like

I love to hear from you, so please feel free to like or leave a comment. I will try to reply as soon as possible. x

